Awards Ceremony At Government House

October 13, 2011

Entertainer Gene Steede was the headline act at Government House earlier this week when he received his MBE from Governor Sir Richard Gozney at the Honours and Awards Ceremony and Reception.

Mr. Steede was awarded a Member of the British Empire [MBE] by her Majesty the Queen in her New Years Honours List 2011 and he elected to receive his award in Bermuda in front of his family and friends in lieu of at Buckingham Palace in London.

Governor Sir Richard Gozney, Gene Steede and Premier Paula Cox:


Mr. Steede has long been recognized as one of Bermuda’s most popular singer/entertainers. Sir Richard congratulated Mr. Steede on the Award and said he was a true cultural ambassador for Bermuda. Premier Paula Cox and Minister of National Security Wayne Perinchief were among the guests of honour in attendance at the Ceremony.

Queen’s Certificate and Badge of Honour recipients: Mrs. Patti Jean Millett, Ms Julia Patton, Mrs. Linda Louise Russell and Miss Alicia Zuill received their Awards from the Governor. Mrs. Millett was honoured for her devotion to the education and care of children; Ms Patton was honoured for public service to the Board of Immigration; Mrs. Russell was honoured for the many years she has been helping the most desperate people in her neighbourhood and Miss Zuill was honoured for her work with Bermuda’s school children as well as for her commitment to assisting physically handicapped children and her work with local sports clubs.

Governor Sir Richard Gozney, Patti Jean Millett, Alicia Zuill, Linda Louise Russell, Julia Patton and Premier Cox:


Many other family members, friends and colleagues witnessed the presentation of awards to Police, Fire, Corrections and Regiment Officers. Police-Long Service Awards were presented to Insp. Stephen Cosham [30-year Clasp] while 25-year Clasps were presented to Ch. Insp. Tracey Adams, Ch. Insp. Sean Field-Lament , Sgt. Edward Peach; Sgt. Clifford Roberts; Sgt. Michael Thomas; and Constables Rose-Ann Mienzer and Vergie Selvin.

Police Long Service Medals for 18 years of service were presented to Sgt. Glynn Kellman and Constables Cerepha Bridgeman, Melvin Best and Adrian Haynes. Reserve Police Officers Insp. Maurice Olivierre and Constable Clayton Fleming each received 25-year Long Service Award Clasps.

Corrections Divisional Officer April Ming was awarded a Long Service Award for 18-years of service. Lt. Colin Swan of the Bermuda Fire Service received a 30-year Clasp Long Service Award and 25-year Clasps were presented to his colleagues: Lt. Alec Swan, and firefighters David Burrows, Jeffrey James, David Malpas, and Michael Rawlins.

Bermuda Regiment Efficiency Medals were presented to CSgt. Alan Richardson; LCpl. Cherann Brangman; LCpl. Gary Dowling and Cpl. Janeek Providence. Bermuda Regiment Commissions were presented to Major Joseph Carnegie, Major Martin Wyer and 2Lt Gordon Emmerson.

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All, News