Bermuda Invitational Raceweek Sailing Results

May 3, 2013

Four of the six classes in the Bermuda International Invitational Raceweek have now got final results.


The Optimist Class, competing in their first BIIRW, saw local sailor, Chase Cooper win the inaugural event and Matilda Nichols win the Junior Champion trophy. The local Comet class was as competitive as ever with 2012 Champion and favourites Stephen Dickinson and Pat Young retaining their title. Dmitri Stevens and Tremaine Bean finished second and Rockal Evans and Christina Barnard were third.

Race week 2013 006

The J105 class finished competing on Tuesday and there was a battle right to the end in this competitive class. Coming out on top were James Macdonald and the crew of Passion, beating out Trevor Boyce in Yabsta and 2011 Champion Chuck Millican in Elusive was third.

Race week 2013 009

After four days of racing, which saw everything from blustery weather to shifty lighter air, GBR’s Sean Evans [RBYC Racing Coach] narrowly beat out local favourite, Malcolm Smith. Rounding out the top four were Bermuda’s Brett Wright and Sara Lane Adderley.

Race week 2013 014

The International One Design Class finishes racing on Friday. Series A concluded on Tuesday with Giles Peckham of the Daring Fleet [UK] pipping Jan Petter Roed of Norway to the win. Peckham leads the Overall Series, Jan Petter is currently second and Bermuda’s Patrick Cooper is third.

The IOD Fleet

The Etchells class concluded racing on Tuesday but there is a pending protest hearing which could affect final results.

- Photos by Roger Mello

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All, Sports