SeaKeepers Award For Sargasso Sea Alliance

June 2, 2013

The International SeaKeepers Society has granted their 2013 SeaKeeper award to the five-person Executive Committee of the Sargasso Sea Alliance, to recognize the efforts of the Bermuda-government led organization in working to protect the Sargasso Sea.

The International SeaKeepers Society’s membership comprises of entrepreneurs, yachtsmen, corporations, divers, scientists and concerned citizens.

The Executive Committee of the Sargasso Sea Alliance includes Dr. Derrick Binns, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment and Planning.

The SSA Executive Committee is chaired by Richard Rockefeller, MD and other members are: David Shaw, Professor Howard Roe (former Director of the UK National Oceanographic Centre); Kristina Gjerde, Senior High Seas Policy Adviser for the International Union for the Conservation of Nature; and Dr. David Freestone, SSA Executive Director.

This is the first time that the annual honor from the International SeaKeepers Society has been granted to more than one person. Previous winners include Dr. Sylvia Earle, famous underwater explorer, actor Ted Danson and former President of the Soviet Union Mikhail Gorbachev, among others.

“We are delighted and deeply honoured that our work in seeking to protect the Sargasso Sea has been recognized by a renowned organization such as the International SeaKeepers Society,” said Dr. David Freestone, Executive Director of the Sargasso Sea Alliance.

“We look forward to exploring further collaborations and in learning more about how the yachting community can continue to serve as custodians of the ocean, including unique ecosystems like the Sargasso Sea.”

Minister of Environment and Planning Sylvan Richards stated: “The Government of Bermuda is absolutely thrilled that its work with the Sargasso Sea Alliance to establish a model for the protection of High Seas has been recognized by the SeaKeepers Society.

“This honour, together with the recent award of a Darwin Plus Grant by the UK Government to study lionfish control mechanisms, to be conducted by Dr. Gretchen Goodbody-Gringley of the Bermuda Institute for Ocean Sciences (BIOS) in conjunction with the Lionfish Taskforce, is reflective of the tremendous benefit to be gained through collaboration with others for the protection of our marine environment.”

Dr. Sylvia Earle is a past SeaKeeper awardee and currently serves as Co-Chair of the Sargasso Sea Alliance Steering Committee.The Award Dinner will take place on Monday September 9th in San Francisco during the America’s Cup.

Read More About

Category: All, Environment, News