Bermuda Football Association Award Nominees

April 23, 2019

The Bermuda Football Association [BFA] “Heroes” Awards Gala which takes this coming Saturday, April 27th in the Earl Cameron Theatre at City Hall, Hamilton at 7:30 p.m. is poised to celebrate this past season’s achievements on the field of play.

The BFA said, “Why the theme “Heroes” for this year’s Awards you may ask! The answer is simple: Everyone needs a hero at some point in their life! Heroes come in all forms and for different reasons.

“We are using this opportunity to make the point that those who occupy our space through their talents must recognize and accept their obligation and responsibility to uphold the good values that we all seek and desire especially in football. Against this backdrop, the Association wishes to announce the nominees for the various awards to be presented at this year’s Awards Ceremony:

Most Valuable Player

  • Premier Division: Kieshen Bean [BAA]; Tre Ming [PHC]; Jaylon Bather [R. Hood]
  • First Division: Chris Caisey [HPWC]; Anwar Telford [SBRC]; Donte Brangman [S. Rangers]

Young Player of the Year

  • Premier Division: Nathan Rego [BAA]; Deandre Lightbourne [PHC]; Eusebio Blankendal [D. Town]
  • First Division: Sage Paynter [St. Georges]; Azar Morrissey [SBRC]; Rai Sampson [S. Rangers]

Coach of the Year

  • Premier Division: Farid El Karfa [X-Roads WFC]; John Nusum [R. Hood]; Scott Morton [PHC]
  • First Division: Brian Dickinson [Vasco]; Jensen Rogers [SBRC]; Jomar Wilkinson [S. Rangers]

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Premier Division: Ian Simmons [BAA]; Rakeem DeShields [PHC]; Jaylon Bather [R. Hood]
  • First Division: Azar Morrissey [SBRC]; David Simmons [Flanagan’s FC]; Darius Cox [S. Rangers]

Goalkeeper of the Year

  • Premier Division: Tahj Bell [NVCC]; Dale Eve [R. Hood]; Dashun Cooper [X-Roads WFC]
  • First Division: Freddy Hall [St. Georges]; Lorenzo Lambert [SBRC]; Ajai Daniels [S. Rangers]

The BFA explained that, “The nomination process for the above awards was conducted in two [2] phases. During the first phase club coaches were required to nominate individuals only from their team. Once all nominations were received from the clubs, the completed list of nominations were sent to the Clubs for the second phase of nominating.

“During the second phase, club coaches were required to select from the list of nominations. However, the coaches couldn’t select a player from their own team. Coaches had to rank the top 3 players of their choice in each category. The top ranked player received 5 points, 2nd ranked player received 3 points and the 3rd ranked player received 1 point. The Award will be presented to the player or coach who receives the most points.

Highest Goal Scorer Awards

The winner of the Highest Goal Scorer Award is presented to the player in the Premier and First Division who scores the most goals only in Premier and First Division matches.

  • Premier Division: Donavan Thompson [X-Roads WFC]; Kieshen Bean [BAA]; Angelo Simmons [Dandy Town]
  • First Division: Anwar Telford [SBRC]; Leo Burgess [SBRC]; Jarazinho Basset [S. Rangers]

Fair Play Team Awards

The winner of the Fair Play Award is presented to the Team in the Premier and First Division who accumulates the least amount of penalty points derived from yellow and red cards received only in Premier and First Division matches.

  • Premier Division: Pembroke Hamilton Club, Boulevard Community Club, X-Roads Warriors FC
  • First Division: Flanagan’s Onions FC, Somerset Bridge Recreation Club, St. George’s CC

Young Referee of the Year Award and Referee of the Year Award

The nominees for the Young Referee of the Year and Referee of the Year Awards were chosen by the selection panel based on the following criteria: Attendance to training, Application of the laws of the game during matches and performance on courses with local and FIFA / Concacaf instructors, assessments / feedback from local and FIFA / Concacaf instructors.

Young Referee of the Year

  • Amaury Majors
  • Mateo Donawa
  • Ka’Ri Richards

Referee of the Year

  • Lloyd Christopher
  • Dwight Jackson
  • Tashun Simons

BFA Legends

The Association is also very proud to recognize this year’s LEGEND’s who have committed many years of dedication while supporting the development and promotion of football; for serving Bermuda with pride and distinction in the realm of football and for being a positive role model through football. These five [5] Legends will also champion the 2019 edition of the BFA Legends Scholarship Awards. The Legends to be recognized this year are as follows:

  • Richard Calderon
  • Robert Calderon
  • Leslie White
  • Randy Bean
  • Alan Peacock [posthumously]

Order of Merit

The Association will also present the Order of Merit Awards as a token of appreciation to the individuals selected who have served the Association or the game of football in an exemplary manner, whether in a professional or voluntary capacity, while demonstrating meritorious commitment, by holding the image and integrity of the sport through development, social delivery and other forms of positive activity.

The Association will bestow the Order of Merit to:

  • Fred Lewis
  • Paul Scope
  • Larry Mussenden
  • Kenneth Perinchief
  • Stanley Simons

“The BFA is very proud to have as our special guest for the Awards Gala, former Trinidad & Tobago international and West Ham United goalkeeper and current ESPN FC Analyst Shaka Hislop,” the BFA said.

Tickets to the Awards Gala are $20.00 and are available from the BFA Office. For more information on the Annual Awards Ceremony, please call the BFA Office at 295-2199 or email

click here banner football

Read More About

Category: All, News, Sports