Nine Swimmers Named To CARIFTA Team

March 19, 2012

The Bermuda Amateur Swimming Association named their team for the upcoming 2012 CARIFTA Games which will be held from April 12th – 15th in Nassau, Bahamas.

After the results were finalized from the Best of Best Shipping event on Saturday [Mar.17], National swim coaches Ben Smith and Richard Goodwin selected a team of 9 swimmers to represent Bermuda at this year’s CARIFTA Swimming Championships.

The Bermuda Team is Nic Patterson, Katrina Beveridge, Benedict Parfict, Philip Hagen, Shannon Hassell, Aaron Rego, Jesse Washington, Madelyn Moore and Junior Female Athlete of the Year Ashley Yearwood.

Coach Smith said “I am very proud of the swimmers that have been able to make the selection for this year’s team and I am looking forward to working with this group. We can expect some very good results from the swimmers that we are taking.”

The team will be accompanied by National Coach Ben Smith and team manager Diane Moore. The team will travel to Bahamas on April 9th to do some Long Course conversion in preparation for the start of the meet on April 12th.

BASA president Tim Petty said “On Behalf of Bermuda Swimming, I would like to congratulate these young swimmers for the effort and determination that has allowed them to reach the team selection. We are very proud of these athletes and wish them all the success in Bahamas.”

The CARIFTA Swim Team bios are below, click ‘Fullscreen’ for greater clarity:

Read More About

Category: All, Sports

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Angel says:

    It is refreshing to see our youth so dedicated to their sport.
    Congratulations to you all for your dedication and hard work and all your achievements.
    Good luck .

  2. Mountbatten says:

    Mountbatten is extremely proud of all these young adults .. GGOOOO BERMUDA ..