Hayward To Receive Peace, Social Justice Award

May 18, 2019

The Peace and Social Justice ministry of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Hamilton, in Bermuda; is hosting its 8th Peace and Social Justice award ceremony, on Thursday, June 6th  at St. Theresa’s church hall on Laffan Street. The event begins at 6pm.

“This year’s honoree is Mr. Stuart Hayward, for his unwavering commitment, dedication and leadership as environmental activist, raising the consciousness of our Bermuda community about environmental issues in our island home. Also for his great work as co-founder and leader of Bermuda Environmental Sustainability Taskforce [BEST] and efforts in saving, preserving and encouraging Bermuda sustainability,” a spokesperson said.

“The Bermuda Roman Catholic Church, Peace and Social Justice ministry criteria for selection is that awardees must have been a member of the Roman Catholic Church of Bermuda or a resident of the Bermuda community at large; and, must have demonstrated a commitment to some specific area of social justice and/or peacekeeping in our island community that reflects and exemplifies those teaching in the Compendium of The Social Doctrine of The Church, from the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace of the Roman Catholic Church worldwide. The award can be given posthumously.

“The event is meant to be a celebration and expression of gratitude from the Church, for Mr. Hayward’s great work. Family and friends, members of BEST and other environmental organizations are encouraged to be there to honor Mr. Hayward and share in the celebration of this most sacred work. At the end of the event Mr. Hayward’s name will be added to the Peace and Social Justice Ministry award plaque, displayed in the cathedral church hall.”

The first recipient for this award was Dr. Barbara Ball in 2008; followed by the Progressive Group in 2009; Dr. Dorothy Thompson in 2010; Monsignor Filipe Macedo in 2012; Gladys Misick Morrell in 2014; Dr. E.F. Gordon [2016] and Dr. Claudette Fleming [2017].

The event will start sharply at 6pm with an intermission light supper break at 6:45pm. It will end at 8pm. All are welcome to attend.

Peace and Social Justice Award 2019 Mr Stuart Hayward

Read More About

Category: All, News