Owen Siese Wins 2010 HWP Byte Champs

May 17, 2010

HWP bermud sailing 2010The 2010 HWP Byte National Championships were sailed this past weekend out of the Spanish Point Boat Club. While racing was close Owen Siese sailed away with the victory, and being crowned the 2010 Byte National Champion.

The Sailing Association said the event is a good warm-up for the Youth Olympic Games Selection Trials which begin next month. All of the YOG eligible sailors but two overseas students were out this past weekend.

The island’s youth sailors have recently returned from the Byte World Championships in France, where Owen Siese won Race #5 of the event. The team also competed in the 2010 North American Byte Championships in the Cayman Islands, where they placed 3rd, with four of the sailors of this HWP event placing in the top 10 in the Caymans.

Owen Siese, a Warwick Academy student, had the lead going into the second day of sailing, as he won 3 of 4 races on the first day of sailing, with Berkeley Institute’s Rahiem Steede winning the other race of the day.

Top 6

  1. Owen Seise 7 points
  2. Kalin Hillier 15 points
  3. Rahiem Steede 21 points
  4. Brian Bulhoes 28 points
  5. Dimitri Stevens 28 points
  6. Alex Davis finished 38 points
  7. Sarah Hopkins 51 points

You can view the full results here [Excel doc]

Read More About

Category: All, News, Sports