Parliamentary Joint Select Committee Update

October 21, 2013

In July, a motion calling for the establishment of a Parliamentary Joint Select Committee to examine and make recommendations on the Legislature’s management structure and governance was passed unanimously in the House of Assembly.

The Joint Select Committee has met on three occasions. Government Whip Cole Simons [OBA] chairs the committee, and other members include Opposition Whip Lovitta Foggo [PLP], Jeanne Atherden [OBA], Kenneth Bascome [OBA] and Senators Jeff Baron and Diallo Rabain [PLP].

A Government spokesperson said, “A central point is that internationally democratic Legislatures are continually evolving. Additionally, social media and other information technology platforms have played a pivotal role in the areas of transparency, accountability and governance.

“In light of this, it is viewed that Bermuda’s Legislature must adopt a more aggressive stance in these areas in order to better fulfill its constitutional role. Furthermore, it is vital to improve the Parliamentary services that are provided to the people of Bermuda, as well as ensure that the Legislature is more accessible.

“To that end Parliamentary Joint Select Committee advised that it will examine various management structures of other Parliaments and upon the completion of the review, the Committee will ensure that Bermuda’s parliamentary service meets the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association’s standards and other internationally recommended benchmarks.

“The Committee welcomes written submissions from the public and they can be sent to”

Read More About

Category: All