Bermuda Softball League Action Continues

September 2, 2019

Docksiders claimed softball‘s A Division title by taking three of four games against the Chubb Kings. Two of those victories were walk-offs with Paulo Arruda delivering the game-winning hit in extra innings with a bloop single down the right-field line to bring home Brad Molitor who had gone 4-4 in the game. Shaun Perry was 4-4 for Chubb in the loss.

Docksiders won the series with a 16 to 11 triumph. A seven-run second inning put the pub ahead, and they never looked back. Greg Bell was 3-4 with five RBI in the big win. Teammates Gary Adams [3-4] and Shawn Furlong [3-5] also had good turns at the plate while Adam Birch and Mike Sakata homered. Tory Richard and Dianne Blais were 3-3 in the loss for Chubb.

The C Division title was won by Super Express after Buffaloes defaulted games four and five after being up 2-1.

Angels retook the Women’s Division title by winning three of four from PHC Zebras. Angels took the deciding contest 27 to 3 thanks in part to 19 walks issued by PHC’s pitching. Terry Paynter and Keisha Eve were 2-3 for the champions with teammate Chelsea Ray [1-1] having three RBI. Jessica Furtado [2-2] had two of PHC’s three hits.

Beach Bums and Raggamuffins will play the decisive fifth game for the B Division title on Tuesday at 7:30 pm.

In the postseason tournament, Team Smokey beat Buffaloes 16 to 11. Paraquet Flyers reeled in Blue Wahoos 26-10 while Raggamuffins dimmed Outback Skylightz 14-2. The only other contest saw Platano Power beat Wahoos 19-16. Both Stalin Lopez and Willy Flores were 4-5 in helping Platano to the win. Lopez also had a homer and five RBI while Flores plated four runs. Albert Acevedo was 3-5 with a homer and three RBI for Platano.

Brett Farlow blasted three homers in the loss while Robbie Bailey was 3-5 and Andrew Markus and Laura Murphy were both 3-4.

All games are played at the Michael Preece Softball Diamond at Bernard Park.


Read More About

Category: All, Sports