MP Ben Smith Elected As OBA Deputy Leader

December 4, 2023 | 4 Comments

[Updated] MP Ben Smith has been elected as the new OBA Deputy Leader, and Elizabeth Deacon and Joseph Marable were elected as co-party chairpersons during the OBA’s annual conference held this evening [Dec 4].

 Elizabeth Deacon, OBA Leader Jarion Richardson, and Joseph Marable

Jarion Richardson Bermuda Dec 5 2023

An OBA spokesperson said, “MP Ben Smith has been voted in as the new Deputy Leader of the One Bermuda Alliance during its annual conference held this evening at Pier Six.

“He ran against MP Susan Jackson for the position after it was vacated this summer by now-Party Leader, the Hon Jarion Richardson, JP,MP. Mr Richardson became interim Leader in August 2023, when former MP Cole Simons retired from politics. Mr Richardson was not challenged for the leadership at this year’s conference.”

Mr Smith said, “First and foremost, I would like to thank everyone who voted for me this evening. I faced a tough opponent in MP Jackson and would like to say a job well done to her. I am looking forward to working with the Leader as we build the party from strength to strength, and most importantly, build a better Bermuda for all.”

The OBA added, “Elizabeth Deacon and Joseph Marable were victorious as they were voted co-party chairs. Aguinaldo Medeiros will remain as Party Chairman for another year.”

Update: An interview with Elizabeth Deacon and Joseph Marable follows below:

Update An interview with Opposition Leader Jarion Richardson follows below:

Read More About

Category: All, News, Politics

Comments (4)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Watching says:

    In the interest of transparency what were the vote totals in the deputy race and the co chairman races ?

  2. WORH HARD, Ben!! Less smiles and MORE work output!!

  3. Lol says:

    They don’t have a clue. More sacrificial lambs to the slaughter. The UBPold boy’s association likes 30-6.

Leave a Reply