Family Court Special Panel Members Honoured

April 8, 2024 | 0 Comments

The Supreme Court and the Magistrates’ Courts of Bermuda recently held a reception to honour the members of the Magistrates’ Court – Family Court Special Panel for their dedicated service, with 38 panel members in attendance.

A spokesperson said, “These individuals serve as part of a “special court” established and constituted in accordance with Part II of the Magistrates Act 1948, which deals with family and juvenile matters. The Governor appoints a panel of individuals, from which male and/or female members sit alongside Magistrates during sessions of the Special Court.

Magistrates’ Court Family Court Special Panel April 2024

“Her Excellency the Governor Rena Lalgie thanked all panelists for their invaluable assistance to families and the Courts. She praised their diligence, compassion, and commitment to achieving effective and fair outcomes. Her Excellency also presented certificates of appreciation to them to acknowledge their service, including to the longest-serving member, Mr. Roderick ‘Roddy’ Burchall, who served for 46 years and was appointed to serve by successive Governors.

“Other members of the Judiciary gave short remarks and commended the panelists including Chief Justice Larry Mussenden, Justice Juan Wolffe, Senior Magistrate Maxanne Anderson and Magistrate Maria Sofianos. Panel member Mr. Roddy Burchall spoke on behalf of the Panel Members.

“The Special Panel Members are: Denise Astwood, Wendy Augustus, Annette Barclay, Hope Berg, Delano Bulford, Roderick Burchall, Elaine Charles, Marlene Christopher, Dorlene Cruickshank, Jennifer DeRosa-Holder, Deborah Evans, Herman Eve, David Frith, Patricia Hall, Judith Hall-Bean, K. Randy Horton, Robert Horton, Kerry Judd, Alan Lugo, Veronica Outerbridge, Linda Perry, Gwyneth Rawlins, Mary Samuels, Kenneth Scott, Kenrick Shillingford, Carol-Ann Simmons, Cornelia Simmons, Melvin Simmons, Orin Simmons, Colin Smith, George Smith, Gladwin Dean Smith, Debra Swan, Kathy-Ann Swan, Llewelyn Trott and Linda Tucker.”

click here banner Magistrates and Supreme Court 2

Read More About

Category: All, News

Leave a Reply