PGA Grand Slam: Elite Foursome Determined

August 20, 2014

Reigning major champions Bubba Watson [Masters], Martin Kaymer [U.S. Open] and Rory McIlroy [Open Championship and PGA Championship] join past major champion Jim Furyk to form the elite foursome that will compete Oct. 14-15, at Bermuda’s Port Royal Golf Course in the 32nd PGA Grand Slam of Golf.

The foursome owns a combined nine major championships, with Furyk the 2008 PGA Grand Slam of Golf champion gaining a berth following a double major season for McIlroy, who last appeared in Bermuda in 2011. Watson and Kaymer will each be making their second trip to the PGA Grand Slam of Golf.

Defending PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champion Adam Scott received the initial invitation to complete the foursome following McIlroy’s victory in the PGA Championship, but Scott was unable to compete due to a scheduling conflict. Furyk, the 2003 U.S. Open Champion, was the leader on this year’s Major Champions Points List, which charts the performance throughout the year of active major champions.

“It’s exciting to cap a great year in golf by matching a foursome of the game’s premier performers over 36 holes,” said PGA of America President Ted Bishop. “The PGA Grand Slam of Golf is a reward for achieving a milestone in a golfer’s career. With the support of the entire island of Bermuda, we look forward to presenting another special chapter in this event.”

Established in 1979, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf expanded from an 18-hole, single-day charity event to a 36-hole annual showdown that matches professional golf’s best against each other for a $1.35 million purse. The PGA Grand Slam of Golf will reach over 88 million households in the U.S. through the PGA’s partnership with TNT, and be seen in more than 100 countries through various international distribution agreements.

Read More About

Category: All, Sports