Photos, Video & Results: Round The Island Race

August 10, 2015

The 2015 Rubis Around The Island powerboat race took place yesterday [Aug 9] afternoon with clear skies making way for this year’s entrants to take to the Ferry Reach start line.

Shortly after all boats had returned to Ferry Reach or were accounted for, the Bermuda Powerboat Association held a prize giving ceremony awarding winners from the day’s racing.

Minister of Community, Culture and Sport, Patricia Gordon-Pamplin and Managing Director of title sponsor RUBiS Energy Bermuda, David Rose, were on hand to congratulate the participants and hand out prizes and certificates.

The first boat across the line and recording the fastest race time of 43 minutes 32 seconds were D Class winners, D187 with driver Steven Eversley and co-pilot Brandon Franks. Driver Stephen Sherwin and co-pilot daughter Meghan Sherwin won the A Class. Meghan Sherwin was also awarded for being the first rookie co-pilot across the finish line.

B Class winners were driver David Selley and co-pilot Jordan Fletcher while driver Shaki Easton and co-pilot Derek Seymour took S Class honours. This year the powerboat race was sponsored by Rubis Energy who put up a $7,000 prize money for the event.

One race participant was taken to the hospital before the start of the race with a medical condition and another was hospitalized after receiving injuries in a crash during the race. Details of the accident are limited at this time, however we understand no other boats were involved in the incident.

View our first set of photos and video by clicking here and all of our Around The Island Race coverage here and all our powerboat coverage here.


Around The Island Powerboat Race results below:

First Rookie Co-Pilot Finish:

  • Meghan Sherwin in A30

A Class:

  • 1st Place – A30 – Driver – Stephen Sherwin & Co-Pilot – Meghan Sherwin – Time 1.12.30

B Class:

  • 1st Place – B8 – Driver – David Selley & Co-Pilot – Jordan Fletcher – Time 52.55
  • 2nd Place – B16 – Driver – Ryan Davidge & Co-Pilot – Andrew Osbourne – Time 53.04
  • 3rd Place – B55 – Driver – Newton Adcock & Co-Pilot – John Adcock – Time 1.17.23

D Class:

  • 1st Place – D187 – Driver – Steven Eversley & Co-Pilot – Brandon Franks – Time 43.32
  • 2nd Place – D88 – Driver – Kenny Maybury & Co-Pilot – Wayne Williams – Time 1.46.00

S Class:

  • 1st Place – S7 – Driver – Shaki Easton & Co-Pilot – Derek Seymour – Time 48.30

Fastest Race Time:

  • D187 – Driver – Steven Eversley & Co-Pilot – Brandon Franks – Time 43.32

Click to enlarge photos:

click here banner Around the Island Race

Read More About

Category: All, News, Photos, Sports, Sports, Videos

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Raymond Ray says:

    Absolutely fantastic! Thanks go out to BPBA and everyone else that had aiding in this years event. Also once again to Bernews for the countless photos and video/s.

  2. San George says:

    Let the Jet Ski’s race around the Island – we obviously can’t afford racing boats anymore; given there were less than 10 boats.

Latest Tweets From