Dame Jennifer Smith Future Leader Ceremony

June 26, 2016

Senator Renee Ming and Constituency 1 of the Bermuda Progressive Labour Party hosted the 10th annual Dame Jennifer Smith Future Leader Award Ceremony on Tuesday, June 21 at the East End Primary School, celebrating eight students from around the island.

The 2016 recipients of the Dame Jennifer Smith Future Leader Award were Cori Foggo [East End Primary School], Zen Mello [East End Primary School], Joanna Santiago [St. George's Preparatory School], Gianni Santucci [St. George's Preparatory School], Ayr Cannonier [St. David's Primary School], Nezuri Paynter [St. David's Primary School], Ka’Ri Richards [Clearwater Middle School], and Jacari Renfroe [Clearwater Middle School].

DJS future leader Bermuda June 24 2016 1

Senator Ming said, “We are excited to celebrate 10 years of honouring future leaders”. She explained; this event started in 2007 and the emphasis is on recognizing two students of leaving age from all St. George’s schools who have such qualities of a leader.

“Specific criteria is set on academics, deportment, kindheartedness and community service. The principals of the schools have the task of identifying one male and female student who display those qualities in the disciplines mentioned.”

DJS future leader Bermuda June 24 2016 2

“The event has become a signature item of constituency 1 that shows our commitment to our children and their accomplishments.

“Since its inception, we have recognized over 80 future leaders and we continue track their progress over the years. Well done to all the future leaders.”

click here banner education

Read More About

Category: All, News

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Dr. the Hon. Ewart F. Brown says:

    Excellent! I think this is a wonderful way to identify future leaders. Congrats to Dame Jennifer and Senator Ming!