Photos: Future Leaders Awards Ceremony

May 29, 2015

The ninth annual Future Leaders Awards Ceremony was held last night [May 28] at the East End Primary School auditorium, with parents, friends, school staff, and supporters attending the ceremony, which saw exceptional students honoured for their achievements.

Awardees included Jailyn Boddington and Naji Bean from East End Primary School, Maximilian Santiago and Saneyah Richardson from St. George’s Preparatory School, Ruth Mello and Zyon Minors from St. David’s Primary School and, Amara Bartram and Kyesja Jones from Clearwater Middle School.

Future Leaders Awards Ceremony Bermuda, May 28 2015-24

In attendance were St George’s Mayor Quinell Francis, MP Lovitta Foggo, Senator Diallo Rabain, Senator Renee Ming, Dame Jennifer Smith, Mrs. Beckles of East End Primary, and Mrs. Lodge of St. George’s Preparatory.

Dame Jennifer Smith hosted the event from 2007 until 2012; Senator Ming now serves as host. For the past nine years, the Principals of the ‘eastern’ area schools have been asked to submit the names of two students who exemplify the qualities of a good leader.

The awards are presented to students who are of graduating age from their respective schools.

The criteria for selection are the attributes which show consistent academic achievement, promise, vision, good character, respect for oneself and others. Each of the Principals submits a biography of their selections, which is read out during the award ceremony.

The event began with a welcome from Raoul Ming, with Sherri Simmons serving as Mistress of Ceremonies. An opening prayer was offered by Pastor Lorne Bean, with a musical selection provided by Rickeesha Binns.

A Presentation of Speaker Senator Renee Ming was followed by a speech from Gayneté Edwards and comments and remarks from Dame Jennifer Smith, before a vote of thanks from Senator Ming.


Previous Future Leaders Awardees include:


  • Jade Smith and Keith Whorms, East End Primary School
  • Amon Cannonier and Asia Fubler, St. David’s Primary School
  • Zephaniah Trott and Noldre Brown, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Alyssa Fox, Jayquan Dill and Isaiah Camara, Clearwater Middle School


  • Jacari Renfroe, East End Primary School
  • Matthew Mello Cann and Nature’ Symonds, St. David’s Primary School
  • Atiya Furqan and Sage Carter, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Chanara Smith-Rookes and Stephan NKeulu, Clearwater Middle School


  • Sitaysia Simons and Zahn Richardson, East End Primary School
  • Zakiya Simmons and Nakal Goater-Price, St. David’s Primary School
  • Larissa Simmons and Leo Harris, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Taiyana Allen and Vance Wall-Brown, Clearwater Middle School


  • Alys Webber and Xavier O’Connor, East End Primary School
  • Kyesja Jones and Isaiah Camara, St. David’s Primary School
  • Rickie Williams and Nasir Simmons, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Asante Chapman and Malik Alick, Clearwater Middle School


  • Kadaisha Fox and Tyreese Cheeseman, East End Primary School
  • Chanara Smith-Rookes and Ezekiel Swan, St. David’s Primary School
  • Keiasa Desilva and De-Roger Hollis-Trott, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Jasmyn Renfroe and Corey Outerbridge, Clearwater Middle School


  • Zenawi Bowen and Alea Whorms, East End Primary School
  • Tariq Basden and Brianna Adams-Thompson, St. David’s Primary School
  • Satori Anderson and Tahje Taylor, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Lateef Trott and Shaunte’ Young, Clearwater Middle School


  • Sinae Smith and Kyle DeRoza, East End Primary School
  • Dominique Burgess and Cameron Neal, St. David’s Primary School
  • Satori Anderson and MaQuille Walker, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Kameron E. Creighton and Rokeyah Brown, Clearwater Middle School


  • Tammisha Pearman and Rayjaun Seymour, East End Primary School
  • Lorina-Le Harvey and Ardon Heyliger, St. David’s Primary School
  • Kayla Smith and Tyler Pitcher, St. George’s Preparatory School
  • Fredricka Hill and Shomari Warner, Clearwater Middle School

Click to enlarge photos:

click here banner education

Read More About

Category: All, Community, News, Photos

Comments (4)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Awesome! says:

    Congrats to ALL the children that were recognized!! Go Maximillian!!!

  2. mary says:

    Congratulations to all of you wonderful young people.
    Mrs. Lodge at Prep

  3. eyes wide open says:

    Excellent idea! And thank you to my Senator for keeping this going. Our youth deserve to be recognized for their accomplishments. Keep up the good work Renee.

  4. Lisa Talbot says:

    Well done to each of you. Super Proud of you Saneyah!!!

Latest Tweets From