58 Student Athletes To Be Honoured At Awards

June 20, 2019

The 34th annual Denton Hurdle Memorial Awards will be held tomorrow [June 21] at Warwick Academy, where 58 student-athletes will be honoured as “the finest student-athletes in Bermuda.”

A spokesperson said, “These awards, honoring the late Denton Hurdle, are used to highlight, recognize and reward the finest primary, middle and senior school student-athletes.

“Denton Hurdle was a keen sportsman who attended Warwick Academy, Bermuda College and Dalhousie University. After completing his physical education degree he went on to teach at Warwick Academy. He was an avid sportsman and excelled in soccer, cricket and volleyball. His first love however was rugby. He went on to captain Teachers Rugby Football Club. He was also a regular member of the Bermuda National Team before sadly passing away in 1985.

“Each school is asked to nominate one boy and one girl for the award. All submissions were then handed over to ten judges in the sporting and/or education field. These judges carefully reviewed the submission to elect this years winners.

“To be nominated for the award, students must display the following qualities: active participation, leadership, sportsmanship, self-discipline, dedication and cooperation. They must demonstrate positive attitudes in school. Nominees should also be good scholar-athletes as well as good role models. Only students in the final year of primary, middle or senior school are eligible for this reward. The guest speaker for the event will be 1990 Denton Hurdle winner and newly hired BCB executive director Cal Blankendal.

“Notable past winners of the award are Triathlete sensations Flora Duffy [1998 & 2004] and Tyler Smith [2016] Cup Match stars Terryn Fray [2005] OJ Pitcher [2000] Oronde Bascome [2002] Greg Maybury [2007] and Malachi Jones [2007] Tennis Pro Gavin Manders [2000] Basketball star Erica Woods [2007] and the only three time winner Taylor Ashley Bean [2004, 2007 and 2011]. Current Bermuda National team members Roger Lee jr, Justin Donawa and Liam Evans are also past recipients.

“The 2018 winners were Imojen Judd from Somersfield Academy and Elliot Primary’s Khari Sharreiff in the Primary School division, Nisaiah Berkeley from BHS and Warwick Academy’s Sam Williamson in the Middle School division, while CARIFTA athletes and Sakari Famous and Robert Edwards from the Berkeley Institute swept the Senior school division.”

2019 Nominees:

Primary School Girls

Nevaeh Barclay [Northlands Primary] Ayah Best [Port Royal Primary] Jayla Peets-Butterfield [West Pembroke Primary] Kaelys Furbert [Victor Scott Primary] Jaeda Grant [Somerset Primary] Aaralyn Ingham [Francis Patton Primary] Ja’Leiyah Johnston [Heron Bay Primary] Keyandae Lightbourne [Elliot Primary] Avani Patton [Saltus Grammar School] Rose Paulos [Somersfield Academy] Taya Rodrigues [Mount Saint Agnes Academy] Ashalay Simons [Warwick Academy] Jazariah Smith-Robinson [East End Primary] Legend Stevenson [West End Primary] Eva Trott [Paget Primary] Hailey Trott [Harrington Sound Primary] Arima Turner [Bermuda High School] Eva Tuzo [St. George’s Preparatory]

Primary School Boys

Xani Allen [Francis Patton Primary] Tyler Coleman [Saltus Grammar School] Syhon-Dakari Goater [Paget Primary] Kimani Davis [West Pembroke Primary] Patrick Dill [Somerset Primary] Zaki Gibbons-Deshields [East End Primary] Knaledge Hardford [Victor Scott Primary] Kyah Richardson [Elliot Primary] Daylen Scott [Mount Saint Agnes Academy] Matthew Troake [Somersfield Academy] Ralph Scott [Warwick Academy] Cavin White [Harrington Sound Primary] Harlem Bean-Fox [Purvis Primary]

Middle School Girls

Kisaye’ Bell [Dellwood Middle School] Shayla Cann [Warwick Academy] Natalie Gazzard [Bermuda High School] Amara Richardson [Sandys Secondary Middle School] Jahni Simmons [ Whitney Institute Middle School] Nicole Stovell [Mount Saint Agnes Academy] Alivia Venning [Saltus Grammar School] Isabella White [Somersfield Academy]

Middle School Boys

Sebestian Kempe [Saltus Grammar School] T. Amias Lightbourne [Dellwood Middle School] Kwame Naylor [Warwick Academy] Mason Robinson [Sandys Secondary Middle School] Tiago Rodrigues [ Mount Saint Agnes Academy] Mackai Whitter [Somersfield Academy]

Senior School Girls

Caroline Amaral [Mount Saint Agnes Academy] Brijette Basden [CedarBridge Academy] Taylor Hines [Bermuda High School] Ashley Irby [Saltus Grammar School] Kaylee Lema [The Berkeley Institute] Ryley Mason [Warwick Academy]

Senior School Boys

Cameron Coffey [Saltus Grammar School] Mikal Dill [CedarBridge Academy] Blake Horseman [Mount Saint Agnes Academy] Jaiden Manders [The Berkeley Institute] Joshua Thorne [Warwick Academy]

Bernews Sports Facebook Group banner with border 1 (1)

Read More About

Category: All, Sports