Ministry Scholarship And Award Recipients

September 29, 2020

The Ministry of Education announced the recipients of 2020 Bermuda Government Scholarships and Awards.

A Government spokesperson said, “Each year the Ministry of Education provides scholarships and awards to Bermudian students to pursue a higher education. Last year, the Government announced a new award, the Bermuda College Promise Programme for students graduating from public schools. To date, 70 students have registered and benefited from this initiative that provides free tuition to a senior with a 3.0 GPA to attend the Bermuda College.

The Minister of Education Diallo Rabain said, “Education is and will continue to be a top priority for this Government. These awards and scholarships are intended to demonstrate the Government’s commitment to Bermudian student’s abilities to further their education at Bermuda College or at overseas institutions. Our students and their ability to pursue post-secondary education is an integral part of the continued development and success of Bermuda. We recognize the importance of providing our people with opportunity and will make no apologies for doing so.”

Two Bermuda Government scholarship recipients Mr. Kairo Morton and Ms. Anna Francoeu

Kairo Morton and Anna Francoeu Bermuda Sept 29 2020

Minister Rabain extended his thanks to the Scholarships and Awards Committee members, and the Ministry and Department of Education public officers who have contributed towards the success of this scholarship and award season.

The full listing of scholarships and awards provided are as follow:

The Bermuda Government Scholarship for graduating senior school students or current college or university students [aged 16-25] for post-secondary education. This Scholarship has a value of up to $35,000 towards the cost of tuition and basic accommodation. We congratulate this year’s recipients:

  • 1. Mr. Kairo Morton, attended Somersfield Academy and is a 2020 graduate from George School; he is pursuing a degree in Computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
  • 2. Ms. Anna Francoeu, a 2020 graduate of Warwick Academy; is pursuing a degree in Liberal Arts from University of Florida.

The Teacher Education Scholarship for current college or university students with sophomore standing for study of selected subjects and/or areas of teaching need in the Bermuda Public School System. Must demonstrate financial need. Scholarship value is up to $20,000 and this year’s recipients are:

  • 1. Sierra Reid – a Berkeley Institute and Bermuda College graduate, studying at American International College pursuing a Master’s Degree and Teacher Certification in Moderate Disability Initial License PK – 8.
  • 2. Chiante Roberts, also a Berkeley Institute graduate, attended Bermuda College. She is returning to University of East London to pursue a degree and Teacher Certification in Special Education.

The Non-Traditional Student Award for the mature [aged 25 and over] college or university students pursuing post-secondary study. The Award value is up to $20,000. And our 2020 recipients are:

  • 1. Alexis Stovell, a graduate of Bermuda High School currently studying at Arizona State University pursuing a BA degree in Mass Communication and Media Studies .
  • 2. Trikeita Outerbridge, a graduate of the Bermuda College with an Associate’s degree in Arts and Studies. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Digital News and Media at the University of Buckingham.
  • 3. Corynne Edwards is a graduate of the Bermuda College Nursing Program in 2018. She is currently attending City University of London pursuing a BSc in Midwifery.

The Minister’s Achievement Scholarship for graduating public school students for overseas post-secondary study. In 2019 there were 36 applicants for this scholarship and for 2020 there was a total of 48 applicants. The Scholarship value is up to $25,000 and was awarded to Jaiden Furbert-Jacobs, a graduate of The Berkeley Institute and the Bermuda College dual enrolment programme. He is pursuing a degree in Actuarial Science at Penn State University.

The Minister’s Exceptional Student Award for graduating students or school leavers with disabilities for local or overseas post-secondary study is valued at up to $25,000 for overseas study and up to $5,000 for local study at Bermuda College. The 2020 recipient of the $25,000 overseas award is Jah-nai Smith, a graduate of The Berkeley Institute who is pursuing a BSc Psychology at Winthrop University in South Carolina, USA.

The Minister’s Applied Science Scholarship is designed for public senior school students graduating from the Applied Technology Dual Enrolment Diploma Programme with the Bermuda College and who plan to continue their education there. Jacari Renfroe is a Berkeley Institute graduate and Bermuda College via the dual enrolment program is the 2020 recipient of this scholarship. Jacari is continuing at the Bermuda College pursuing a Certificate in Motor Vehicle Technology.

The Minister’s Technical and Vocational Award for graduating public school students or recent public school alumni [aged 25 or under] attending Bermuda College or overseas post-secondary study and is valued at up to $25,000 for overseas study. This year’s recipient is DesRon deShield-Burchall , a graduate of The Berkeley Institute. He is presently pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree in Software Engineering at New England Institute of Technology.

The Minister’s Bermuda College Book Award for Bermuda College students to purchase books. These are one-time awards for students enrolled in degree programmes at Bermuda College. Award value is $500. Up to six students will receive Bermuda College books awards for the 2020/2021 academic year.

The Further Education Award is for current college or university students with sophomore standing for continued post-secondary study who must demonstrate financial need. This award value is up to $10,000 and this year there were a total of 55 Further Education Awardees as listed below:

  • Tae-Eja Bean
  • Sherwin Burgess
  • Tia Burrows
  • Jayla Burt
  • Keshun Butterfield
  • Ember Butterfield
  • Asante Chapman
  • Mercedes Correia
  • Brianna Correia
  • McKenzie Costa
  • Tahj Cox
  • Dawson-Samuel Dates
  • Shatonae DeSilva
  • Di’Neasha DeSilva
  • Crystal Dill
  • Stefan Dill
  • Zorie Eve
  • Taznae Fubler
  • Atiya Furqan
  • Yanni Gibbons
  • Dazhja Greaves
  • Chayah Guishard
  • Paul Harney
  • Precious Hayward
  • Chantae Hollis
  • Deonae Jones
  • Keizhari Knight
  • Dantae Leverock
  • Victoria Lindsay
  • Jacy Lowery
  • Kyrie Parfitt
  • Solomon Pearman
  • Ajai Peets
  • Sacara Phillips
  • Staesha Pitcher
  • Paige Raynor
  • KaRi Richards
  • Davondra Sealy
  • Seth Samuels
  • Damion Simmons
  • Gloria Simmons
  • Ackah-Simons Simons
  • Dawayne Smith
  • Jawonday Smith
  • Naphisa Smith
  • Selaah Stephenson
  • Veronica Swan-Degraff
  • Vernicka Symonds
  • Seon Tatem
  • Jessie Thomas
  • Gregory Trott
  • Shani Tucker
  • Tierrai Tull
  • Takiesha Wales

click here banner education

Read More About

Category: All