Three Independent Senators Appointed

November 4, 2020

Joan Dillas-Wright and Michelle Simmons have been reappointed as Independent Senators and Mr R John Wight has been newly appointed as an Independent Senator, the Government confirmed today.

A Government spokesperson said, “His Excellency the Governor, John Rankin acting in his discretion in accordance with Section 27 of the Bermuda Constitution, has made the following appointments to the Senate:

  • Mrs Joan Dillas-Wright MBE, JP
  • Mrs Michelle Simmons
  • Mr R John Wight

The Governor said, “I am grateful to Mrs Dillas-Wright and Mrs Simmons for their continued commitment to serve on the Senate and to Mr John Wight for his willingness to join them as Independent Senators.

“Each of them brings their own unique experiences to the work of the Senate which I believe will be of value and I wish them well in their future duties. I would also again take this opportunity to thank Mr James Jardine for his distinguished service to the Senate between 2011 and 2020.”

The Senate consists of 11 members, five appointed by the Governing party, three by the official Opposition, and three Independents appointed by the Governor.

The three OBA Senators are Ben Smith, Robin Tucker and Marcus Jones, and the PLP/Government Senators are Owen Darrell, Curtis Richardson, Arianna Hodgson and Lindsay Simmons, with one more Senator to be appointed to replace Rolfe Commissiong.

Read More About

Category: All, News, Politics