“UK Territories And Sanctions Against Russia”

March 7, 2022

The official UK Parliament website has released a document which they said “describes how sanctions are applied by the UK’s fourteen Overseas Territories,” noting that the sanctions applied by the UK will also apply to all the OTs.

The website states, “In February 2022, the UK and other countries introduced sanctions against Russia in response to its military action against Ukraine, targeting its financial sector and assets held by Russian politicians and oligarchs.

“This briefing describes how sanctions are applied by the UK’s fourteen Overseas Territories [OTs]. Only ten of these are inhabited, and include the Cayman Islands, the British Virgin Islands, and the Turks & Caicos Islands in the Caribbean.”

“The long-standing policy of the UK Government is for the OTs to apply the same sanctions as the UK,” the website states.

BOTC British Overseas Territory map British colonies map (2)

The official website notes, “this is a fast-moving situation, and this briefing should be read as correct at time of publication,” with the date of publication being March 4th.

As an additional caveat, while this is an official document from the UK Parliament website, some of the figures cited are estimates generated by advocacy/campaign groups and while the document lists Barbados as an Overseas Territory, they have actually been an independent nation since the 1960s.

Premier David Burt previously confirmed that the island, in effect, will follow UK sanctions, saying, “In response to the Russian military invasion of Ukraine, many countries including the United Kingdom, have introduced a wide range of sanctions against the Russian Federation.

“Once implemented, UK sanctions are applicable in Bermuda as an Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom,” the Premier said, and UK Foreign Secretary Liz Truss previously said she is ”working closely with the Overseas Territories to make sure that Putin’s oligarchs have nowhere to hide.”

The UK joins numerous other allies around the world such as the US, Canada, Switzerland and the EU in imposing the sweeping sanctions against Russia following their invasion of Ukraine.

The full UK’s Overseas Territories and Sanctions Against Russia follow below [PDF here]:

click here banner British Overseas Territories

Read More About

Category: All, News

Comments (4)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Red Pill says:

    The more sanctions those idiots impose the closer we get to WWIII. Go ahead don’t believe me.

  2. Red Pill says:

    The mainstream media is taking you all for a ride.

    • sandgrownan says:

      Yeah, that’s it. It’s all a conspiracy.