Russia Adds All Territories To “Unfriendly” List

October 31, 2022

The Russian government has added eleven more of the British Overseas Territories – including Bermuda — to its so called “unfriendly countries” list, with Bermuda now joining a list that many of the world’s major democracies are already on.

The Russian media said, “Eleven more British Overseas Territories have been added to the list [of territories] that supported the sanctions imposed by the UK on Russia. These are: Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, St. Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Islands, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Turks and Caicos Islands.”

It is noted that originally the list included only three British territories: the island of Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands and Gibraltar. “Thus, all 14 British Overseas Territories are now included in the unfriendly countries list,” the message reads.

There are over 50 nations on their list, which does not appear to have any major practical effect.

The inclusion of the small islands on the list resulted in some mockery on social media, with one Eastern European media outlet noting that the island of Pitcairn only has a population of 50 people, and some others made comments about how the penguins on the British Antarctic Territory have made the list, as Russia placed the Antarctic Territory on the list, despite the island having no actual permanent human population.

Bermuda and the other Overseas Territories join a list which already includes, but is not limited to, the United States, Bahamas, Canada, all the European Union countries, the UK, Switzerland, Albania, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Micronesia, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan and more.

All of the UK Overseas Territories are also implementing the sanctions imposed by the UK, who has joined many nations around the world in imposing sanctions in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

The Novaya Gazeta, an independent Russian media outlet, has also reported on the list and you can read their report here.

Read More About

Category: All, News

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Joe Bloggs says:

    “There are over 50 nations on their list, which does not appear to have any major practical effect.”

    So a little less than 1/4 of all self-determining jurisdictions in the world

  2. Tom says:

    Oh no the price of caviar going to sky rocket!!