Achievements Celebrated At Shotocup Awards

July 17, 2023 | 0 Comments

The achievements of Bermuda’s karate athletes throughout the 2022/2023 Coral League season were celebrated at the 2nd Annual Shotocup Awards.

A spokesperson said, “The Royal Hamilton Dinghy Club was filled with excitement and anticipation as the local karate community gathered to celebrate the remarkable achievements of Bermuda’s karate athletes throughout the 2022/2023 Coral League season at the 2nd Annual Shotocup Awards. This prestigious event served as a testament to their dedication, talent, and unwavering sportsmanship.

“The event commenced with a passionate speech by Co-Director Arnold Alan, who expressed gratitude to the athletes and their support systems for their unwavering commitment and invaluable contributions that led to their success.

“The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Director’s Awards, which recognized twenty outstanding individuals who met the criteria of competing in three or more Shotocup events or achieving a score of 100 or more in the Shotocup rankings.

“Alessia Vianello, Amarriah Vaughans, Chan Simons, Charles Issa Ndiaye, Dash Bailey, Dominique Brown, Geraldine Sidders, Giovanni Víanello, Khwai Mendoza, Marleigh Williams, Marsille Williams, Michael Burgess, Miguel Bolarinho, Noah Lowe, Talaya Sousa, Talia Iris, Taylor Ming, T’orie Russell, Toni Cabral, and Vincent Lightbourne were among the well-deserving recipients of this prestigious recognition.

Shotocup Awards Bermuda July 17 2023

“In addition to honoring the athletes, special service awards were presented to the dedicated volunteers who contributed their time and efforts to ensure the success of the Coral League season. Sheba Bailey, Harriet Hayward, Ivone Frias, Timothy Sousa, Sloane Johnson, Tracey Symonds, and Quannae Lowe were acknowledged and appreciated for their invaluable support.

“The evening’s top honors were awarded to Coach of the Year, Gladwin ‘Roots’ Phillips, whose guidance and inspiration have made a significant impact on the athletes’ journey. The Athlete of the Year awards were presented to Tony Cabral [Adult Male], Talia Iris [Adult Female], Michael Burgess [Youth Male], and Geraldine Sidders [Youth Female]. Michael Burgess also achieved the highest ranking on the point chart, a testament to his exceptional performance.

“The presence of esteemed guests, including Jr. Minister for Sport Kim Swan, MP Renee Ming, and the Honorable Michael Weeks JP, MP, Minister of National Security, added further significance to the event. Minister Weeks presented the Community Award to Charles Butterfield, recognizing his efforts in fostering unity within the karate community through kindness and collaboration.

“The inspiring speech by Jr. Minister Kim Swan emphasized the importance of the young karate athletes’ discipline and dedication, serving as an inspiration to others.

“Shotocup Director Edmond Johnson expressed his immense satisfaction with the event, acknowledging the athletes’ remarkable achievements and unwavering sportsmanship.

“For more information about the Shotocup Awards and the Coral League season, please visit”

click here banner martial arts

Read More About

Category: All, Sports

Leave a Reply