Bermuda Beat Cayman, Qualify For Dubai

July 22, 2011

[Updated - Bermuda win] The Bermuda cricket team which will face the Cayman Islands at 2:30 today [June 22] has been named; D Hemp, L Cann, F Crockwell, K Leverock, D Minors, R Trott, O Bascome, M Jones, G O’Brien, Damali Bell and J Gilbert. Bermuda won the toss and elected to bowl.

This is Bermuda’s fourth game in the ICC Americas Region Division One Twenty20 Tournament taking place in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Bermuda goes into this game with a 3-1 record thus far, having beaten Argentina in the opener, and later beating Suriname before losing to Canada.

Update: Bermuda Win by 10 Wickets. Cayman Islands 87/8 Bermuda 88/0.

Day 4 of the ICC Americas Division 1 Championship saw both Bermuda and USA confirmed as the Americas Region representatives to go to the T20 World Cup Qualifier in Dubai. Canada had qualified automatically but Bermuda’s win over the Cayman Islands confirmed their place and assured the USA of a place regardless of their last two results.

Bermuda won the toss and elected to bowl first, in their fourth ICC Americas Region Division One Twenty20 match at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill.

Cayman Islands was restricted to 87/8 in their allotted 20 overs, Steve Gordon was their top scorer with 23, while Pearson Best who was the only other batsman in double figures scored 22. With figures of 4.0-0-13-3, Kamau Leverock led the bowling attack while Malachi Jones bowled 4.0-0-09-2.

In reply Bermuda scored 88/0 with Lionel Cann the top scorer with 54, his third half century of the tournament, while added 24 both were not out, as Bermuda sealed their place at the World Twenty20 global qualifiers in Dubai next year.

Cayman Innings

..01 (02) Ramon Sealey c Oronde Bascome b Malachi Jones
..03 (11) Zachary McLaughlin c Malachi Jones b George O’Brien Jr
..23 (23) Steve Gordon c Lionel Cann b Kamau Leverock
..06 (08) Omar Willis Run Out
..22 (38) Pearson Best c Fiqre Crockwell b Malachi Jones
..02 (04) Abali Hoilett c Dean Minors b Kamau Leverock
..04 (12) Conroy Wright b Kamau Leverock
..04 (08) Kevin Bazil c Lionel Cann b Rodney Trott
..06 (11) Kervin Ebanks Not Out
..06 (05) Alessandro Morris Not Out
..10 Extras (6w-2lb-2nb)
..87 Total for 8 Wickets after 20 overs

Fall of Wickets: 1-2 (Sealy), 2-17 (Mclaughlin), 3-36 (Willis), 4-38 (Gordon), 5-43 (Hoilett), 6-50 (Wright), 7-64 (Bazil), 8-78 (Best)

Bermuda Bowlers

4.0-0-09-2 Malachi Jones
4.0-0-32-1 George O’Brien Jr.
4.0-0-12-0 Damali Bell
4.0-0-13-3 Kamau Leverock
2.0-0-12-0 Joshua Gilbert
2.0-0-07-1 Rodney Trott

Bermuda Innings

..54 (43) Lionel Cann Not Out
..24 (49) David Hemp Not Out
..10 Extras (8lb-1w-1nb)
..88 Total for 0 Wickets after 15.1 overs

Cayman Bowlers

2.0-0-12-0 Conroy Wright
4.0-0-12-0 Kervin Ebanks
4.0-0-18-0 Kevin Bazil
3.0-0-15-0 Alessandro Morris
2.0-0-22-0 Zachary McLaughlin
0.1-0-01-0 Troy Taylor

Read More About

Category: All, News, Sports

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed


  2. Positive Vibes says:

    Well done Bermuda!! Keep up the hard work guys, you are on your way.
    Nice to see that Bermuda’s athletes in most sports have all done an amazing job this last year!!