Bicycle Association Present 2015 Season Awards

January 31, 2016

The Bermuda Bicycle Association held their 2015 Season Awards Ceremony this weekend, where the results from the 2015 cycling calendar were recognized.

Addressing the gathered crowd, President of the Bermuda Bicycle Association, Peter Dunne said, “While many individuals will be singled out for their performances the strength of our sport lies not in a few but the many who compete in mountain biking, road racing and lately cyclo-cross.

“We have athletes who have made great improvements, whether that is by finishing their first local race or competing at international events. It is the collective energy of our membership that propels us all.

“I would like to recognize those who have helped make the sport even better this year. To the sponsors, race organizers, volunteers, executive committee and board, each individual who raced in 2015 felt the benefit of your enthusiasm for the sport of cycling, thank you.”

The major awards for the 2015 season were presented to:

Most Improved Junior – Kaden Hopkins:

Building on his strong mountain biking season last winter Kaden moved right into road racing with similar results. From the start to the finish of the 2015 road season Kaden made great progress, both in his individual results and his racing tactics. He won the Road Race Championship title in June and came second in the TT championships as well as third in the road race series in Adult B and second in the 15/16 time trial series.

Most Improved Adult – Che’quan Richardson:

Maybe 2015 was the breakout year for Che’quan who took two road race series wins in a very competitive field and tied for third in the series overall. By sticking to a training program and allowing his fitness to develop through the year he was able to show strong results which made him the clear winner of this award.

Club Person – Butterfield Bank:

With the strong support of Curtis Dickinson, Butterfield Bank has shown its commitment to cycling in Bermuda with their sponsorship of the Bermuda Grand Prix. With other major sporting events grabbing the sporting headlines the willingness of Butterfield to continue with this flagship event the race organizers are able to put on a great weekend of racing for all.

Junior Rider of the Year [award sponsored by Winners Edge]: Matthew Oliveira:

Matt started the year winning the MTB championships and then showed that he can be a tough competitor in the Adult A category winning the points series on the back of consistent results. On top of this he scooped the TT championship title in June. The pinnacle of his year was the two silver medal performances at Junior Caribbean Cycling Championships in the road race and time trial in Dominican Republic.

Female Rider of the Year – NWIG Women’s Road Team: Gabriella Arnold, Karen Bordage and Zoenique Williams:

The team medalists in Jersey for both bronze in the criterium and silver in the road race, this trio put in a solid team performance and, coincidentally, comprised the podium at the Bermuda road race championships.

Male Rider of the Year – Dominique Mayho:

Yet another strong year for Dominique who remains the man to beat when in residence. Wins at road race championships and Presidents Cup plus a gold medal in the NatWest Island Games criterium and first appearance at World Championships by a Bermudian in about 10 years made for a fantastic 2015.

Race Official – Deborah Narraway:

Deb was selected by the chair of the officials, Charles Thresh, for her continued work overseeing the junior gearing requirements at our races. Greatly feared by all but always clear and helpful in keeping our juniors within the guidelines.

Race Organizer – Team Bicycle Works:

Recognizing their efforts to create new and exciting race courses, including the criterium in Hamilton and the Warwcik/Paget road race course.

Read More About

Category: All, Sports

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. nicky says:

    Congratulations to all the winners, volunteer, devoted organisers and president.