CONCACAF Women U17 Draw On Wednesday

January 25, 2018

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football [CONCACAF] confirmed the official draw of the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship will be held on January 31st, with Bermuda one of the eight teams.

The draw, which will be held at the CONCACAF Headquarters in Miami Beach,and will sort the eight qualified nations into two groups of four teams, and will be broadcast on Wednesday, January 31 on

The CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship will include a field of eight teams. From Central America, Nicaragua will participate as host, along with Costa Rica, first place finisher of the 2017 CONCACAF Central America Women’s Under-17 Qualifier.

Three teams from North America will compete – Canada, Mexico and United States – as well as Haiti, Bermuda and Puerto Rico, as the three top finishers from the 2017 CONCACAF Caribbean Women’s Under-17 Qualifier.

The draw will be conducted using six pots. Pots 1, 2, 3 and 4 will be the “Team Pots,” and will contain the names of the Participating Member Associations. Pots A and B, “Group Position Pots,” will be used to sort the participating clubs into the positions in the groups.

For the draw, host country, Nicaragua will be seeded in Group A, position A1, while the United States, defending champion at this age level will be seeded in Group B, position B1. The six additional Participating Member Associations will be ranked according to their performance in the last five editions of the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship.

The draw will begin by drawing the Pot 1 seeded teams into their Group positions. Then a sphere from Pot 2 will be drawn, followed by sphere from Pot A to determine the Group A position. The second sphere from Pot 2 will be drawn, followed by the group position from Pot B.

The same will be done with all the spheres from Pots 3 and 4, alternating between Pot A and B to determine the group positions. Per the competition regulations, there cannot be three Caribbean teams, two [2] Central American teams and/or three [3] North American teams in the same group.

CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Nicaragua 2018
Date: April 19 – 29, 2018
Site: Managua, Nicaragua
Teams: Bermuda, Haiti,  Puerto Rico, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Canada, Mexico & USA

Top three teams will qualify for the World Cup

Competition Format: The eight participating teams will be sorted into two groups of four for the Group Stage. After round-robin play, the two group winners, plus the two second-place finishers will advance to the semifinals.

The semifinal winners will automatically qualify to the championship final and the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup. The semifinal losers will dispute the tournament’s third place match for the last available ticket to the World Cup.

click here banner football

Read More About

Category: All, Sports

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Beach Bum says:

    These ladies are going to need our support! I hope that we rally aroumd them and make them feel our love befor they leave. This is an amazing exsperience and I only hope that they do their best and show that they are some of Bermuda finest! GO TEAM BERMUDA!