USA Election: No Winner Declared Yet In Iowa

February 4, 2020

The first vote in the Democratic primary for U.S. President is not exactly going smoothly, with no winner having been declared yet in last night’s Iowa Caucuses, prompting headlines such as ‘Chaos reigns on Iowa caucuses’ and ‘Democratic race in shambles’.

Iowa Democratic officials say they’re going over the paper trail of results from the caucuses after finding “inconsistencies” in the reporting.

With the winner still unclear, candidates are heading to New Hampshire, the next state to vote, while Iowa officials continue to work on finalizing results, with reports stating the Iowa Democratic Party “expect to have numbers” later today.

“The confusion took much of the wind out of not only what was supposed to be a shining moment for Iowa, but also for whoever emerged as the winner of the caucuses. Instead of leaving Iowa with momentum, some of the candidates would be getting on a plane for New Hampshire with uncertainty,” Huffington Post reports.

There are eleven candidates left in the race; Michael Bennet, Joe Biden, Michael Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren and Andrew Yang, with most polls showing Biden and/or Sanders leading.

The field had over 25 candidates at one point, and those who have already dropped out include John Delaney, Kamala Harris, Cory Booker, Julian Castro, Marianne Williamson, Jay Inslee, Steve Bullock, Joe Sestak, Wayne Messam, Beto O’Rourke, Tim Ryan, Bill de Blasio, Kirsten Gillibrand, Seth Moulton, John Hickenlooper, Mike Gravel, Eric Swalwell and Eric Swalwell.

The caucus in Iowa is the first of many, with over 50 separate primaries and caucuses set to take place in the U.S between now and June 6th, to determine the Democratic nominee who will then take on President Donald Trump in the 2020 United States presidential election, which is scheduled for Tuesday, November 3, 2020.

Read More About

Category: All