Cycling: Winners Edge Time Trial Results

July 27, 2020

Kaden Hopkins continued his strong run of time trial performances, taking his third victory in as many weeks in the Winners Edge Time Trial that started and finished at Clearwater Beach.

On a hot and humid morning, many of the island’s top riders challenged the conditions and each other on a course that started adjacent to Clearwater Beach on South Side, traveling west to the Swizzle Inn roundabout and back with senior riders completing two laps and juniors one for 20 miles and 10 miles respectively.

Hopkins clocked a time of 43:05, completing the course at an average speed of 27.9 mph. Conor White was again his closest competition, finishing 2:28 back in 45:33.7, with top triathlete Tyler Smith a further 40 seconds behind.

Geoff Smith topped the Male Masters category in 49:30.3 with Kris Hedges slowly closing the gap in the recent time trials, 28 seconds behind; Adam Hopkin finished third in 52:06.4.

Female Open rider Louise Wells put in an impressive ride that saw her finish in 51:29, which was good enough for a seventh place finish overall. It was a close battle in the Female Masters category with Jennifer Lightbourne taking to top spot in 58:05.4, beating out Karen Smith by less than a second, with Caroline Wright rounding out the top three in 58:27.9.

In the highly competitive Junior 17/18 Category, it was a battle royale for the top spot in their 10-mile event, with Alexander Miller reversing his defeat last week by clocking 22:32.6. Liam Flannery also recorded an impressive 26.2 mph finishing 22 seconds behind the top two.

Tommy Marshall, Cameron Morris, and Moses Johnson were the top three Junior Male 15/16 riders in 25:26.6, 26:36.8, and 27:36.3 respectively.

Liana Medeiros topped the Female 15/16 Category breaking 20mph in a time of 29:23.1. Thomas Quarterly and James MacFarlane were first and second in the Male 13/14 Division clocking 28:02.8 and 35:10.8.

The Female 13/14 Age Group saw Jasmin Hasselkuss overcoming Charlotte Millington in 31:56.7 and 34:11.0, while the Boy’s 11/12 winner was Callum MacFarlane took honors in 33:29.2, with Zac Moniz second in 38:01.8.

The full Edge Time Trial Results follow below [PDF here]:

click here Bermuda cycling

Read More About

Category: All