Concacaf Preview Of Bermuda vs Barbados

July 1, 2021

The Bermuda national football team is set to take on Barbados tomorrow [July 2] and Concacaf has provided a preview of the match-up.

Concacaf said, “It will be a battle of very familiar foes when Bermuda and Barbados clash in the First Round of the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Prelims kick on Friday at DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

“There have been 15 previous meeting between the two nations, with six wins for Bermuda [21 goals] and five for Barbados [19 goals], along with four draws.

“Nevertheless, the stakes have never been higher when these two countries have faced each other than they will be on Friday.

“Bermuda will have the advantage of previous Gold Cup experience, having participated in the 2019 edition when they achieved their first ever Gold Cup victory in a 2-0 win versus Nicaragua.

“The Gombey Warriors will be led by dangerous FW Nahki Wells, who scored two goals in that 2019 Gold Cup, plus a number of other players, namely DF and captain Dante Leverock, who also formed part of the squad that debuted in the tournament two years ago.

“Barbados are a team on the rise after winning their group in League C in the Concacaf Nations League and finishing with a solid 1W-2D-1L record in the first Round of Concacaf World Cup Qualifying for Qatar 2022.

“A couple of European-based strikers in Hallam Hope of England’s Swindon Town and Nick Blackman of Israel’s Maccabi Tel-Aviv give the Baja Tridents a one-two punch that will put the Bermuda defense to the test.

“Two teams that know each other quite well are likely to put on a great show with the chance to be a win away from a Gold Cup group stage berth.”

The BFA previously said the squad for the Gold Cup Preliminary Round includes Keishon Bean, Jomei Bean-Lindo, Detre Bell, Eusebio Blankendal, Willie Clemons, Dante Leverock, Quinaceo Hunt, Richard Jones Jr, Daren Usher, Zeiko Lewis, Jaylon Bather, Calon Minors, Lejaun Simmons, Reginald Lambe, Dale Eve, Roger Lee, Kole Hall, Luke Robinson, Jonte Smith, Justin Donawa, Kacy Butterfield, Kane Crichlow, Nahki Wells.”

click here banner football

Read More About

Category: All, Sports