Russia Releases List Of ‘Unfriendly Countries’

March 7, 2022

The Government of the Russian Federation — which is being widely condemned around the world for their invasion of Ukraine — released a list of foreign states and territories that they claim “commit unfriendly actions against Russia, its companies, and citizens.”

According to numerous international reports, the list — which spans around 50 nations including most of the world’s richest and most powerful nations such as the USA, UK, EU, Canada, Japan and Australia — also includes some smaller areas, such as three of the UK Overseas Territories; Anguilla, BVI, and Gibraltar, and the inclusion of some of the small jurisdictions resulted in some mockery by international social media users.

Anguilla, a Territory like Bermuda which has a smaller population [around 15,000] and no military at all, has also been included in the list along with other Territories including the Faroe Islands, which has a population slightly smaller than ours, and is a territory of Denmark.

The list includes “the United States and Canada, the 27 EU states, the UK [including Jersey, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Gibraltar], Ukraine, Montenegro, Switzerland, Albania, Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, North Macedonia, and also Japan, South Korea, Australia, Micronesia, New Zealand, Singapore, and Taiwan [considered a territory of China, but ruled by its own administration since 1949].”

All of the UK Overseas Territories are also implementing the sanctions imposed by the UK, who has joined many nations around the world in imposing sweeping sanctions in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Read More About

Category: All