New Constituency Boundaries Commission Meet

November 15, 2015

Chaired by Dr. Francis Alexis QC, from Grenada, the new Constituency Boundaries Commission for Bermuda met on Friday [Nov 13].

The work of the Commission is to review the boundaries of the constituencies into which Bermuda is divided and submit to the House of Assembly a report either stating that, in the opinion of the Commission, no change in those boundaries is required; or recommending the changes in those boundaries specified in the report.

A spokesperson said, “The Commission will meet again as soon as possible to continue its proceedings and in due course, will invite views from the members of the public on the subject of its work.”

The Commission comprises:

  • Chairman – Dr. Francis Alexis QC, from Grenada
  • Judicial Member – The Hon. David Jenkins, Chief Justice of Prince and Edward Island, Canada
  • Government members – Mr. Sylvan Richards and Mr. Mark Pettingill
  • Opposition members – Mr. Walton Brown and Mr. Wayne Furbert
  • Secretary to the Commission – Miss Tenia K. Woolridge

Governor George Fergusson formally appointed members of a Boundaries Commission in October saying, “I am very pleased to have secured the services of Dr Alexis, from Grenada, and Chief Justice Jenkins, from Prince Edward Island for this important task.

“Each will bring highly relevant knowledge and experience from distinguished careers. I am also grateful for the commitment of the members from Bermuda.”

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. hmmm says:

    Pembroke has too many constituencies ! Need to cut the number down. Will save on MP salaries. currently there are 7, should be a maximum of 4. Don’t forget COH cover a big chunk of Pembroke. Three should really be enough for each parish!