Members Of Boundaries Commission Appointed

October 14, 2015

Governor George Fergusson has formally appointed members of a Boundaries Commission as he is required to do before the end of 2017 by Section 53 of the Bermuda Constitution.

The members are:

  • Chairman – Dr Francis Alexis QC [Grenada]
  • Judicial Member – Chief Justice of Prince Edward Island, the Hon David Jenkins [Canada]
  • Government appointed members – Mr Sylvan Richards and Mr Mark Pettingill
  • Opposition appointed members – Mr Wayne Furbert and Mr Walton Brown

The Governor said, “I am very pleased to have secured the services of Dr Alexis, from Grenada, and Chief Justice Jenkins, from Prince Edward Island for this important task. Each will bring highly relevant knowledge and experience from distinguished careers. I am also grateful for the commitment of the members from Bermuda.”

Under Section 54 of the Constitution, the Boundaries Commission shall submit a report to the House of Assembly which will either state that in the opinion of the Commission no change in constituency boundaries is required or recommend changes in those boundaries specified in their report.

Read More About

Category: All, News

Comments (3)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Boundary changes, PRC’s, must be an election coming up.

    • seriously says:

      The Governor, not the Government, launches the Commission, and the Constitution specifies the timing.

  2. rhonda says:

    How can any changes be made to boundaries, without a census. Thus far the only barometer I see is the granting of status, to making changes. If says, they where concentrated in a certain area