Introducing The New B.U.T. Executive Committee

November 17, 2019 | 0 Comments

The Bermuda Union of Teachers [B.U.T.] introduced the new executive team to the wider community, saying they are set to lead the Union “with ambition and devotion to the art of education in Bermuda.”

A spokesperson said, “After our recent elections, the Bermuda Union of Teachers is very proud to present our new Executive team to the wider Bermuda community. The team that will serve for the 2019 to 2021 term is a strong mix of seasoned veterans and dynamic and energetic newcomers who are set to lead this venerated union into its second century with ambition and devotion to the art of education in Bermuda.

“This group knows that its mission must be holistic at its core; because supporting teachers means supporting students, and supporting students means supporting the nation. This group will work for teachers, students, and, ultimately, Bermuda.

“Sister Nishanthi Bailey is the new President of the BUT. Sister Bailey brings a wealth of knowledge of union protocol and inner workings to her new office having already served on the BUT executive for many years; most recently as the Treasurer. Sister Nishanthi has been a consistently inspirational figure in membership meetings, and will now be trusted to apply her considerable dynamism and charisma to the head office.

“Sister Bailey will be ably supported by Brother Anthony Wolffe, who returns as Vice-President, a position he has held with strength and grace for a number of years now. Immediate Past President Shannon James and General Secretary Dr. Michael Charles will also employ their collective decades of union expertise to assist their highly capable new president in the journey toward union progress, education progress, and holistic community progress.

“Brother Craig Crichlow will be taking over the Treasurer duties from Sister Bailey, and Brother Dante Cooper, a young, ambitious, and conscientious union stalwart will be the new Recording Secretary.

School level executives were elected as follows:

  • Preschool Executive: Sister Marion Dyer
  • Primary School Executives: Sister Shacolbi Basden, Sister Denise Booth, Sister V. Denise Hill, Brother Crenstant Williams
  • Middle School Executives: Sister Tracy Hayward, Sister Tiffany Trott
  • Senior School Executive: Brother Wade Herman, Sister Patricia Nesbitt

Rounding out the newly inaugurated BUT Executive are the following officers:

  • Administrative Executive: Sister Shaquita Parson
  • Counsellor Executive: Sister Jutkita Wilson
  • Para-educator Executive: Sister Joezine Butterfield
  • Specialist Executive: Sister Laurel Burns
  • Attendance Executive: Sister Prinzine Bailey

“This is an awesome new team, with wisdom, energy, and the unflinching determination to make the things that need to happen for this country, happen. Our teachers are in highly capable hands for the next few years, which bodes very well for Bermuda as a whole.”

click here banner education

Read More About

Category: All, News

Leave a Reply