Additional Qualifying Spot For Championship

October 9, 2019

The Bermuda Golf Association [BGA] and Bermuda Professional Golfers’ Association [BPG] announced that an additional qualifying spot has been secured for the upcoming Bermuda Championship Local Qualifier, taking the total number of Bermudians guaranteed a place in the island’s first-ever PGA Tour event to four.

Entries for the local qualifier closed on Monday evening, with eighteen players – 13 professionals and 5 amateurs – now vying for three qualifying spots. As has been previously reported, veteran professional golfer Dwayne Pearman has accepted a sponsor’s exemption into the starting field for the 2019 Bermuda Championship.

The two-day qualifying event will be held at Port Royal Golf Course on October 16th and 17th with tee times starting at 10:00 am on both days. Admission is free and spectators are encouraged to come and support the players in their attempt to make history and tee it up alongside the world’s best golfers.

BGA President Craig Brown said, “The opportunity to qualify for a PGA Tour event on local soil is unprecedented. We are excited that the local qualifier will now give three players from a field of eighteen the chance to represent Bermuda on the world stage come October 31st. We wish to thank the Bermuda Championship Tournament Committee for securing a third qualifying spot and for providing Bermudians with this wonderful opportunity.”

BPGA President Scott Roy added, “The field has strength in depth with locally-based BPGA members, Bermudian professionals returning from overseas, and several high-quality amateur players. The event promises to be extremely competitive, and now that we have an additional qualifying spot there will be a lot of pressure to perform knowing what we are all playing for.”

The Tournament Director for the Bermuda Championship Local Qualifier will be Gary Venning, a Level Three R&A Rules Official.

Player List for the Bermuda Championship Local Qualifier


  • Daniel Augustus
  • Chaka DeSilva
  • Jeffrey Lindo
  • Brian Morris
  • Anthony Phipps
  • Scott Roy
  • Quinton Sherlock Jr.
  • Michael Sims
  • Camiko Smith
  • Chris Smith
  • Nathan Swan
  • Andrew Trott
  • Andrew Trott-Francis


  • Scott Barnett
  • Jarryd Dillas
  • William Haddrell
  • Kenneth Leseur
  • Damian Palanyandi

click here banner golf

Read More About

Category: All, Sports