Barnes Steps Down As Karting Club President

May 20, 2023

[Written by Stephen Wright]

Scott Barnes has stepped down as the Bermuda Karting Club president, having held the position for three years.

Jason North has succeeded Barnes, who said he is proud of his achievements and has backed the new committee, voted in last week, to “keep the ball rolling”.

Barnes told Bernews: “The club is in great shape financially and in terms of our membership.

“We had 53 karts race this year, the most we’ve had since our heyday in the late Nineties.

“Everything is set up for the new committee to take the club forward. The future looks bright.

“I’d like to thank our membership, Rubis Energy Bermuda, our main sponsors, and St John Ambulance – we couldn’t race without them.”

Scott Barnes Karting May 2023

Since 2010, the club has had just three presidents and one of them, Bilal Binns, held the post for only a year.

“Jason had it for three years, I had it for five years, Bilal had it for one year, Jason had it for one year, and I’ve had it for three years,” Barnes said. “It’s crazy when you think about it.

“Jason has been around for a while and has the club’s best interests at heart.”

Barnes won the L206 and Shifter Stock Class this season to extend his domestic titles to a record 21.

The 38-year-old will now take a break from racing locally but will continue competing overseas.

He will also continue mentoring 11-year-olds Sadie Hocking and Jemima Bonard, who race in the Cadet Class.

“With Jorja Thomas [Shifter Stock Class] heading to the US for school, these two will be the only female drivers competing locally,” Barnes added.

“The club needs female drivers, and I look forward to helping them continue developing.”

BKC new committee

Jason North [president]; Justin Lindo [vice-president]; Lori Dunstan [secretary]; Jason Correia [treasurer]

BKC Special Awards

  • Rookie of the Year: Tanner Correia; Will Dunkley [runner-up]
  • Most Improved Driver: Will Dunkley; Roman Wilkinson [runner-up]
  • Most Dominant Driver: Jason North; Scott Barnes [runner-up]
  • Good Sportsmanship Award: Chris Smith and David Malpas
  • Junior High Points: Tanner Correia
  • Senior High Points: Scott Barnes
  • President’s Award: Jeff Sousa and Gloria Malpas
  • Milestone Award: Scott Barnes [21 titles]

Bernews Sports Facebook Group banner with border 1 [1]

Read More About

Category: All, News, Sports