Dept Hosts Reception For 19 Retiring Educators

June 25, 2018

The Department of Education recently held their annual retirement reception to honour 19 staff members for their years of service.

Minister of Education and Workforce Development Diallo Rabain congratulated the group and praised them for their remarkable years of service.

Minister Rabain stated, “In a world that changes nearly every day, it is no small feat to recognize the teachers, para teachers, administrative assistants, officers and staff that served the Department on an average of 25 years each. Collectively, your service represents 470 years of dedication to our students their families and by extension, our island home.

Minister Rabain and Acting Commissioner of Education, Kalmar Richards with the group

Department of Education Retirement June 2018

“Everyone knows that you don’t pursue a career education to make a lot of money. Teaching is a profession of love, a profession of compassion and a profession of life-long commitment,” the Minister said.

“As one of the most honorable profession, one can do, it is indeed humbling to able to stand in the shadows of these giants, like Sharilyn Shabazz and Phyllis Harshaw and who taught in primary school for 37 and 36 years respectively and Yolanda Simons and Earldor Williams who taught for 35 and 34 years.

“On behalf of the Ministry of Education and Workforce Development, we honour all of your commitment to every day put your shoulder to the wheel and do what you needed to do for our students so they can be fulfill their pre-destined potential in a safe and nurturing environment. Your years of service is appreciated and they will be revered and cherished.”

The list of retirees:

  • Cindy Laurin, Primary School Teacher, Dalton E. Tucker Primary, 30 years
  • Coralita Dill, Primary School Principal, Gilbert Institute Primary, 28 years
  • David Outerbridge, Traffic Warden/Custodian, Francis Patton Primary, 14 years
  • Donna Swainson-Robinson, Senior School Teacher, CedarBridge Academy, 25 years
  • Daniel Hill, Primary School Teacher, Elliott Primary, 20 years
  • Dawn Broadbelt, Support Teacher, Clearwater Middle School, 22 years
  • Donna-Mae Gomes, Educational Therapist Asst., Whitney Institute Middle School, 30 years
  • Earldor Williams, Primary School Teacher, West Pembroke Primary, 34 years
  • Gwendolyn Creary, Supervisor Behaviour Management Programme, Child Development Programme, 24 years
  • Laverne Simons, Assistant Director, ESA (Central), 33 years
  • Lovette Lovell, Family Coordinator, Child Development Programme, 27 years
  • Mary Beth Aitken, Primary School Teacher, Northlands Primary, 20 years
  • Murray Scott, Learning Support Teacher, CedarBridge Academy, 17 years
  • Patricia Lee, Para-educator, CedarBridge Academy, 23 years
  • Phyllis Harshaw, Learning Support Teacher, CedarBridge Academy 36 years
  • Robert Corday, Primary School Teacher, Francis Patton Primary, 9 years
  • Sharilyn Shabazz, Primary School Teacher, Elliott Primary, 37 years
  • Shelley Steede, MOED, 3 years
  • Yolanda Simons, Primary School Teacher, Purvis Primary, 35 years

click here banner education

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All, News

Comments (3)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Pickled Tink says:

    Congrats Mr. Hill. You were an awesome teacher! Hard as nails! But fair!

    I’m confused. You taught me in the 1980s and it says 20 years of service.

  2. puzzled says:

    470 years?

    Never mind.

  3. Redamtibi says:

    Whats the cost on this one?