Photos: Sports Achievement Award Winners

March 27, 2015

Tyler Butterfield and Flora Duffy were recently crowned the 2014 Bermuda Male and Female Athletes of the Year, while Tyler Smith and Kyrah Scraders were named the Male and Female Junior Athletes of the Year.

Butterfield had an outstanding 2014 with wins during the Abu Dhabi International Triathlon in the United Arab Emirates, the Bermuda National Championships, while he he also ran to victory in the Bermuda Day Half Marathon Derby and he won the Tokio Millenium Triathlon.

He also finished third during the Ironman France, eighth while competing in the Huatulco ITU Triathlon World Cup, and he finished 19th during the Commonwealth Games Triathlon.

Duffy won the 2014 Xterra World Championship in Hawaii, Duffy also won the XTERRA Nationals in Utah, XTERRA Championship in South Africa, the XTERRA West Championship in Nevada, the XTERRA Asia-Pacific Championship in Australia and the XTERRA Southeast Championship in Alabama.

In the traditional Triathlon, Duffy finished 20th during the ITU World Triathlon in Grand Final Edmonton, she was second during the Zittau ITU Cross Triathlon World Championships, eighth in the Glasgow Commonwealth Games, 18th during the ITU World Triathlon in Chicago, she finished fourth during the Dallas PATCO Triathlon Pan American Championships and she finished 3rd while taking part in the Cape Town ATU Sprint Triathlon African Cup. Duffy completed a remarkable year of racing as she won the Queen of Bermuda Triathlon.


In all, the Sports Achievement Award winners included:

Achievement Awards

  • Roy-Allan Burch
  • Reyel Bowen
  • Sentwali Woolridge
  • Christian Burgess
  • Karen Smith
  • Tyler Butterfield
  • Flora Duffy

Junior Achievement Awards

  • Kyrah Scraders
  • Cecilia Wollmann
  • Tyler Smith
  • Jesse Washington
  • Kyle Webb

Ministers Awards Cricket

  • Christian Burgess
  • Leilanni Nesbeth

Ministers Awards Football

  • Damon Ming
  • Ebonie Burgess

Appreciation Awards

  • XL Foundation
  • Aspen Bermuda Limited

Special Achievement Awards

  • Calvin Blankendal
  • Colin Clarke

Sports Citation Awards

  • Pembroke Hamilton Club
  • 2012 Carifta Games Committee
  • Stanford Bean
  • Anthony Bailey
  • Allen Richardson

Click to enlarge photos:

Read More About

Category: All, Photos, Sports, Sports