Photos: Young Men Compete In Alpha Beautillion

June 12, 2016

Six outstanding high school seniors recently took to the stage at the Ruth Seaton James Centre to compete in the 15th annual Alpha Beautillion sponsored by the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, Epsilon Theta Lambda Chapter, Bermuda, with Theo Wolffe from Warwick Academy winning the event.

The six Alpha Beaus who competed for the $13,000 in scholarship funds to attend university were Jordan Simmons-Trott representing CedarBridge Academy, Alfred “Trey” Maybury from Saltus Grammar School, Chakote Wainwright representing Impact Mentoring Academy, Theo Wolffe from Warwick Academy, Rollin Nathan Jr from Bermuda Institute, and Enrico Escolastica of The Berkeley Institute.

These six young men were nominated by their respective schools to participate in the Alpha Beautillion, and they were  judged on their performance throughout their seven month mentoring process, as well as their performance on the night of the Alpha Beautillion.


The second runner up was Enrico Escolastica of The Berkeley Institute who was awarded $2000, the first runner up was Jordan Simmons-Trott of CedarBridge Academy who received a $3000 bursary, and the winner of the 2016 Alpha Beautillion was Theo Wolffe of Warwick Academy who received a $5000 bursary.

Mr. Simmons-Trott was the winner of the overall best oratorical performance and received an award from Toast Masters’ President, Ms. Kim Caines.

Each of the remaining participants received a $1000 bursary and all will be sent on an all expenses paid trip to the Leadership Development Institute at Long Island University, sponsored by the Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated.

The judges for the prestigious event were Sylvan Richards, Minister of Social Development and Sport; Jessica Mello, Director Consulting, Deliotte; Karla Lacey, Chief Operating Officer, Bermuda Tourism Authority; Veronique Sotto, Operational Excellence Director, Digicel; and John Barritt, JP, Attorney at MJM Limited.

Bro. Dantae Williams was the Chairman of the 2016 Alpha Beautillion, and also serving in the Beautillion Committee were Bro. Zuri Darrell, Bro. Omar Lodge, Bro. C. Michael Wellman, Bro. Dr. John Duncan, Bro. Lloyd Holder, Bro. Michael Pearman.

This year Digicel was the title sponsor of the Beautillion. Veronique Sotto, Judge and Operational Excellence Director at Digicel said “I would like to personally congratulate all of the participants of the Alpha Beautillion. It was a pleasure to witness the talent on the stage, and to see the future of Bermuda striving to succeed.”

“Digicel is a proud sponsor of the Alpha Beautillion. We believe that investing in our young people is investing in our island’s future. Programmes like the Beautillion provide the mentoring and support that our young people need.”

Other contributing sponsors were Deloitte, Butterfield & Vallis and Markel Corp.

Photos by Anthony Wade, click to enlarge:

click here Bermuda Alpha Beautillion

Read More About

Category: All, News, Photos