Reminder: Ordinary Municipal Elections On May 9

May 8, 2019

The City of Hamilton and the Parliamentary Registrar’s office today [May 8] reminded the voting public about the municipal election which is set to take place tomorrow [May 9].

Parliamentary Registrar’s office

A Government spokesperson said, “The Parliamentary Registrar’s office today reminded voters of the Municipal Elections to take place in Hamilton and St. George tomorrow, 9 May, 2019.

“Elections for the Corporation of Hamilton will be held at the Seventh Day Adventist church hall on King Street in Hamilton, to fill the seats of Business Ratepayers Councillors. Only those persons on the business ratepayers register, are allowed to vote in this election.

“Elections for the Corporation of St. George will be held at Penno’s Wharf cruise ship terminal in St. George’s to fill the seat of Mayor. Both municipal residents and business ratepayers are allowed to vote in this election.

“The polls will be open tomorrow in both locations from 8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m. The Parliamentary Registrar’s office will also be open during those hours to assist voters if necessary. Voters are required to have valid photo identification in order to vote.

“Results from these elections will be posted on our website, at the close of polls tomorrow night.”

City of Hamilton

A spokesperson said, “The City of Hamilton reminds the public that the municipal election in Hamilton will take place on Thursday, May 9th. Only those business rate-payers who registered to vote in the municipal election may cast a ballot.

“The polling station is located at the Seventh Day Adventist Church on King Street and will be open from 8am till 8pm. Free parking for voters will be available in the King Street parking lot next to the church. Businesses may check their registration status by visiting the Parliamentary Registrar’s website at or by calling 293- VOTE[8683].

“Five people put their names forward on Nomination Day for the Business Councillor contest – current City Councillors Larry Scott, Nicholas Swan, John Harvey and Dennis Tucker – and businessman Michael Branco has joined the race. Business voters will choose four names out of the five to represent them on the City Council.

“City residents are reminded that their four Councillors, as well as the Mayor, have already been determined as they were uncontested on Nomination Day. City residents, therefore, need not attend polling day. The four Residential Councillors will be current Councillors George Scott, Henry Ming, RoseAnn Edwards and newcomer Jenefer Brimmer.

“All Councillors, along with Mayor Charles Gosling, will be sworn in on Friday, May 10th at City Hall and begin their three-year term.”

Read More About

Category: All