New Cabinet Minister Appointments Expected

July 15, 2020

[Updated] Changes to the Cabinet are expected to be announced , with Premier David Burt previously confirming that it is his “expectation to ask the Governor to make new appointments to the Cabinet” on Wednesday.

The changes follow after Wayne Caines and Zane DeSilva both resigned from the Cabinet after videos circulated showing them at a party at Blue not adhering to the Covid-19 regulations. In addition to the two resignations, a 14-day closure notice was issued to Blu Bar & Grill as the venue was found to have breached the Covid-19 Regulations.

The Premier previously said that “inviting two committed and dedicated Ministers of the Government to resign gave me no pleasure” but ”rules and regulations mean nothing if we are not prepared to live by them ourselves.”

Following the resignations,  Minister Diallo Rabain has served as acting Minister of National Security, while Minister Wayne Furbert has served as the Acting Minister of Tourism & Transport.

The current PLP MPs are Renee Ming, Kim Swan, Lovitta Foggo, Tinee Furbert, Derrick Burgess, Wayne Furbert, Christopher Famous, Diallo Rabain, Wayne Caines, Walter Roban, Michael Weeks, Jason Hayward, David Burt, Rolfe Commissiong, Lawrence Scott, Curtis Dickinson, Neville Tyrrell, Lt/Col David Burch, Dennis Lister III, Zane DeSilva, Scott Simmons,Jamahl Simmons, Kim Wilson, Dennis Lister, and Michael Scott.

The MPs who do not currently serve in Cabinet, or as Speaker or Deputy Speaker, are Renee Ming, Kim Swan, Tinee Furbert, Christopher Famous, Wayne Caines, Michael Weeks, Rolfe Commissiong, Lawrence Scott, Neville Tyrrell, Dennis Lister III, Zane DeSilva, Scott Simmons, Jamahl Simmons, and Michael Scott.

There are also five PLP Senators; Vance Campbell, Anthony Richardson, Crystal Caesar, Ianthia Simmons-Wade, and Kathy Lynn Simmons, with Senator Simmons currently serving in Cabinet as the Minister of Justice and Attorney-General.

Update: Unofficial sources suggest the appointments may not be made today, but later this week or next.

Update: The Premier has now confirmed the appointments will be made later, tweeting that it “will not be happening today. When the press conference is scheduled the press will be notified.”

Read More About

Category: All

Comments (3)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. sandgrownan says:

    Not exactly a deep well of talent is it.

  2. Brilliance of Burt says:

    Dear Brilliance of Burt, why the delay?
    we already know who the new Ministers are

  3. 2 More Years says:

    According to the Bermuda Constitution Order we do not need to call another General election until July 2022, the government revenue is down and Minister said their is a deficit and shortfall so these 2 new ministers will help our Premier turn the economy around by July 2022

    I know our Premier will not waste taxpayer money on an election that is not needed at this time so look forward to these 2 new ministers being selected and appointed to the PLP can continue to move Bermuda forward like they were doing before COVID-19 came and moves all 11 Ministers to daily COVID-19 related tasks

    2 more years and then we can evaluate the PLPs performance from July 2017 and hopefully the OBA would have renamed itself again to another new name to convince people they are capable.