PGA: Defending Champion First Alternate

February 8, 2011

The 29th PGA Grand Slam of Golf, to be contested Oct. 18-19, in Bermuda, will become the first in event history to grant its defending champion No. 1 alternate status in the event of multiple major champions or should a qualifying player be unable to compete.

Defending Champion Ernie Els captured the 2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf, earning his way into the season-ending showcase after finishing among the leaders on the Major Champions Points List, a standard that will continue to be utilized to complete the season’s elite foursome.

The Robert Trent Jones Sr. designed Port Royal Golf Course will host the PGA Grand Slam of Golf this season and in 2012, with the action televised by TNT to a worldwide audience.

“The PGA Grand Slam of Golf is a special reward to a major champion, and an event that few players in the game have experienced,” said PGA of America President Allen Wronowski. “We are pleased to give our Champion of Champions, should the opportunity arise, the opportunity to defend his title in the season’s premier foursome.”

Bermuda and Port Royal Golf Course are joined by the Fairmount Southampton, which is the official hotel for the PGA Grand Slam of Golf. Port Royal is a public course that was opened for play in 1970, and underwent a $13.7 renovation completed in 2009, extending the par-71 layout to 6,842 yards.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf features a $1.35 million purse, with the winner receiving $600,000; second place $300,000; third place $250,000; and fourth place $200,000.

TNT’s prime-time broadcast of the event reaches a worldwide audience of 88.9 million U.S. homes and international viewers in more than 100 countries.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf is hosted by the Bermuda Department of Tourism, Port Royal Golf Course, and the Fairmont Southampton Hotel.

Established in 1979, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf has grown from an 18-hole, single-day charity event to a 36-hole annual showdown that matches professional golf’s best against each other. Ernie Els captured the 2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf title at Port Royal.

The foursome for the 29th PGA Grand Slam of Golf features the winner of the following major championships: The Masters, April 7-10, at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Ga.; the 111th U.S. Open Championship, June 16-19, at Congressional Country Club in Potomac, Md.; the 140th Open Championship, July 14-17, at Royal St. George’s, England; and the 93rd PGA Championship, Aug. 8-14, at Atlanta Athletic Club in Johns Creek, Ga.

Past PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champions include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Els, Tom Lehman, Ben Crenshaw, Greg Norman and Nick Price.

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed