‘If We Could Go Back, Would Not Penalize’

May 29, 2017

America’s Cup Race Management [ACRM], the organization that oversees the sporting and competitive rules of the America’s Cup, has announced its perspective on the contentious penalty given to Artemis Racing in race 14 of the first Round Robin stage of the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers today [May 29]

“As has been seen in the first three days of racing in the 35th America’s Cup, the competition has been closer than ever. The outcome of each race is unpredictable and races are being won and lost by extremely fine margins. This means that the pressure on the umpires to make the correct calls is greater than ever before,” the America’s Cup said.

“As in all sports, umpires are not infallible and on this occasion, even with the best sailing umpires in the world that are overseeing the 35th America’s Cup, they have admitted that their decision, on reflection, may have been different.

In an interview which can be seen above Richard Slater, ACRM’s Chief Umpire said, “When they were coming down to the final gate mark, with the information we had at the time, we had Artemis Racing on port, as the keep clear boat, and Emirates Team New Zealand on starboard, and our job is to be certain that Artemis Racing were keeping clear, and we weren’t at that time certain they were keeping clear.

“We have had a discussion, we have looked at other evidence, information and data, and I think if we were to go back in time and make that call, we would green that call and not penalize Artemis.”

Asked if that decision could be changed, Slater answered, “No, it is a field of play decision and the decision of the umpire stands.”

The results of race 14 of Round Robin 1 in the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers stand.

americas cup click here 2

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All, News, Sports

Comments (14)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Long bay trading says:

    Not much help to Artemis sadly.

  2. Dangel says:

    How sad. There should be some benefit/point awarded to Artemis.

    Artemis stay strong and persevere. You have not been located in Bermuda for the last 18 months or so for naught.

    Do what you do best!!!!! The Village supports you!!

  3. Wahoo says:

    That sucked! Hell of a race up to that point though.

  4. Hubert W says:

    Mashed that one up.

  5. Real truth says:

    WWE………….

  6. Soooo…you need a Stargate then?
    Perhaps a time tunnel…
    I know…daylight savings…we could all set our clocks back a pre proscribed period…posthumously… Perhaps……..

  7. Pillage the village Sweden!

  8. Tony Brannon says:

    Where was the video replay panel of judges ? Or were they deciding only from a chase boat…… and couldn’t see clearly there was NO PENALTY ???

    “Ultimately the decision of the umpire stands” – So who were the Swedes racing against Emirates Team New Zealand or the Judges ?
    That was first class aggressive sailing and the Swedes got cocked….

  9. sugraknab says:

    I ainkeen a blowboat guy, but that was a phenomenal match race. Like fighter jets in a dogfight… just incredible.

    Really tough knock for Artemis. Those guys are first class, though… push on!!

  10. Cow Polly says:

    Well that sucks! With all this technology spent on the boats, didn’t someone think to update the rules to include ‘challenges’ and ‘slow motion replay’ etc?

  11. FUI says:

    the oscar goes to team nz you were beaten soundly and you know it. i hope that piss poor bad call doesn’t effect the final round robin results. go get em artemis

  12. Bobby Jones says:

    It seems to me that NZ knew that if they pushed the button they would get the win. The rest of the world knows that what happened is not right and AC race commotte should make sure that it does not happen again. Such a poor rule that it can’t be challanged or can not be changed by the officials.

    If NZ goes on to win, the win will always be a blemish on their record. Team NZ should do the right thing and be gentlemen and show that they play fair.

  13. JUNK YARD DOG says:

    The sport of sailing has no room for pride and prejudice.

    a “field call” is only just that, reality will always out weigh poor judgement.

    Now put it right .

    SAIL A RE – MATCH TO PRESERVE THE INTEGRITY OF SAILING.

  14. Dux says:

    In ALL fairness, the NZ team should be the perfect gentlemen in this, and concede to the Swedes. Artemis should have sailed to the end, be clocked in, and the final decision made later upon full review of the circumstances from all sides. But then, if Artemis did that, they would have been penalized for not obeying the umpires. It is so unfair to Artemis the way this turned out.