Video: Bermuda Challenge Awards Presentation

June 20, 2014

Boating Magazine’s Editor in Chief Kevin Falvey recently presented awards to the first two-time Bermuda Challenge winners, Chris Fertig and Tyson Garvin. The presentation was held at the 2014 Miami International Boat Show.

The duo first came roaring into Bermuda aboard their Statement Marine 37 powered with twin diesel Cummins MerCruiser TDI’s on August 5 2012 in a time of 21 hours and 39 minutes setting a new record for the ocean crossing.

The following month an Italian team smashed that record by over 4 hours in a time of approximately 17 hours.

In the early hours of August 22 2013, Chris Fertig and Tyson Garvin roared into Bermuda, breaking the Bermuda Challenge record for their second time with a time of 15 hours and 48 minutes in their Skater 399 powered by twin Cummins diesels and Arneson Surface Drives.

Created by the Boating Magazine in 1994, the Bermuda Challenge is an offshore powerboat endurance race which begins at the Statue of Liberty in New York City and finishes at the sea buoy in St. Georges, Bermuda.

The first run was in 1996 by Larry Graf in his Glacier Bay 260 Canyon Runner with twin Honda 90s, and was completed in 37 hours. In 1997, a World Class 266 SF catamaran powered by Mercury Optimax 150s cut the time to 29 hours, 30 minutes.

Bermuda’s Dr Neil Burnie previously held the record when he took part in the challenge aboard a Renaissance Marine Prowler 302 in 2002.

Read More About

Category: All, Videos