Some City Services Set To Resume Tomorrow

April 19, 2021 | 1 Comment

With the island set to move into the next phase of restrictions tomorrow [April 20], some City of Hamilton services will resume.

A spokesperson said, “Following Government’s announcement that Bermuda will move to the next phase of restrictions beginning April 20th, the City of Hamilton can advise of a resumption of services across several areas.

“Refuse collection will move from a reduced level back to full capacity, operating on the normal schedule. This includes the collection of cooking greases from City restaurants.

“Additionally, all City parks and public bathrooms will re-open and street sweeping will resume.

“As has been the case for the past three weeks, the administration offices at City Hall and the City Works Depot on Laffan Street are closed to the public with staff working on a remote basis wherever possible. The two art galleries located in City Hall also remain closed.

“The City’s website continues to be operational for online applications and payments and any additional press releases from the City will be posted online as well as to our social media platforms on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

“Additionally, the City’s switchboard remains open for calls [292-1234].

“In anticipation of high boat traffic once recreational boating is permitted tomorrow and heading into the Sail GP race weekend, the City would like to issue a reminder for the boating public to please place all boating garbage in a dumpster or trash receptacle and not next to the dumpster or on the sidewalk. Please do not leave trash on the wharf side at Albouy’s Point.

“The City is available to provide support to City businesses [retail and dining] who need assistance or advice regarding curb-side pick-up, which will be permitted during this next phase. Members of the public are reminded to not double-park or park illegally on City streets while collecting their orders.

“If businesses are experiencing challenges or have any inquiries about parking cones relating to curb-side pick-up, they may contact Assistant Superintendent [Traffic Management] Fred Richardson at frichardson@cityhall.bm or 531-5252. For any questions regarding Al Fresco Dining [not yet permitted], please contact City Engineer Patrick Cooper at pcooper@cityhall.bm or 300-4747.

“Below is a list of department heads at the City should anyone need to urgently contact a City official:

  • Operations: Duane Crockwell – dcrockwell@cityhall.bm – 533-2441
  • Engineering: Kirk Richards – krichards@cityhall.bm – 505-2677
  • Sanitation: Anthony Darrell – adarrell@cityhall.bm – 504-8261
  • Parks: Steven DeSilva – sdesilva@cityhall.bm – 300-6446
  • Port: Earl Francis – efrancis@cityhall.bm – 505-0892
  • Communications: Helen Zoellner – hzoellner@cityhall.bm – 534-3624
  • Finance: Tanya Iris – tiris@cityhall.bm – 537-0608
  • Marketing & Events – Jessica Astwood – jastwood@cityhall.bm – 707-1364
  • Human Resources – Lindell Foster – 333-4242

“The City’s number one priority for its staff and the public is their safety. The City urges everyone to use best practices and heed the advice of the Government and health officials.”

covid-19 divider 1

As the island and world deals with the Covid-19 pandemic, we are doing our best to provide timely and accurate information, and you can find more information on the links below.

Read More About

Category: All

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Vaccinated says:

    This whole thing is all over the place.. if someone’s work is interior fit out, which would be considered construction, can we go work? If yes that’s weird we can work with people we don’t live with but can’t go see my family.
    #scrabblebrains

Leave a Reply