Photos/Video: Police Recruit Passing Out Parade

July 28, 2012

At 4pm on Thursday [July 26] the Passing Out Parade for Recruit Foundation Course #74 took place at Police Headquarters in Prospect, Devonshire.

In attendance at the ceremony were several dignitaries including Governor George Fergusson, Minister of National Security Wayne Perinchief, Commissioner of Police Michael DeSilva, Permanent Secretary of National Security Major Marc Telemaque, Commanding Officer of the Bermuda Regiment Lt. Col. Brian Gonsalves, Chief Fire Officer Vincent Hollinsid, Commandant Bermuda Reserve Police Jerry Robinson

Fifteen officers were on parade, led by Parade Commander Acting Inspector Lawrence Dean. The newest members of the Bermuda Police Service are: PC 860 Deforest Evans, PC 2443 Denique Archer, PC 2444 Michelle Berkeley, PC 2445 Joshua Boden, PC 2446 Keishalyn Brooks, PC 2447 Stephen Dill, PC 2448 Te-Ara Douglas, PC 2449 Jerome Overbey, PC 2450 Milen Simons, PC 2451 Sean Simons, PC 2452 Jonathan Talbot, PC 2453 Keegan Taylor, PC 2454 Lisa-Nichole Tucker, PC 2455 Kion Wade and PC 2456 Ashun Wolffe

There were several awards presented during the ceremony. The Instructors Cup is an award that is given to the fastest officer over the International 10 kilometre or 6 mile Flatts Road Running Course. The Instructors Cup was presented to PC Michelle Berkeley for the fastest time of 1 hour and 7 minutes in the female category, and PC Deforest Evans for the fastest time of 45 minutes and 3 seconds in the male category.

All Round Athlete & Physical Fitness Awards went to PC Te-Ara Douglas and PC Deforest Evans. The Deputy Commissioner’s Cup is for the best effort on the course and the officer who has made the most significant progress, and it was awarded to PC Kion Wade. The Class Valedictorian was PC Jerome Overbey.

It is the tradition of each Recruit Foundation Course to raise money to donate to a charity of their choice. This year’s recipient is the Bermuda Cancer & Health Centre. Mrs. Rhonda Simmons received a cheque for $3,000 on behalf of the Bermuda Cancer & Health Centre from PC Denique Archer. The money was raised by the RFC #74 charity car wash and bake sale at the RUBiS Paget Service Station on July 7th 2012.

The Academic Award was awarded to PC Keishalyn Brooks who achieved an overall test average of 89.22%. The Commissioner’s Shield was awarded to Blue Syndicate led by Acting Inspector Larry Dean; consisting of PC Michelle Berkeley, PC Joshua Boden, PC Te-Ara Douglas, PC Jerome Overbey, PC Sean Simons, PC Keegan Taylor, and PC Ashun Wolffe. The award was collected by PC Te-Ara Douglas.

The Baton of Honour was awarded to PC Keishalyn Brooks who was selected as the most distinguished student officer by the Training Centre Staff.

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All, News, Parades, Photos