Mountain Bike National Championships Results

March 28, 2016

Chequan Richardson won a well-deserved National Championship Title in the Winners Edge Mountain Bike Championship race in Southlands, Warwick,

Threats of a wet weekend finally came to pass when the skies opened up, making turning the technical course at Southlands into a mud-fest for the Male Open race.

A spokesperson said, “In a hard downpour, the sand and dirt quickly began to influence the outcome of the race. The event began with Deshi Smith and New Zealander Adam Kirk getting a quick lead on the field, aided by Richardson taking a quick detour into the trees on the first descent of a 12 foot ramp affectionately known as Dave’s Drop.

“But having remounted and setting into a steady chase, Richardson caught Kirk and then Smith, who had made a gap on the Kiwi. At that point it was Richardson’s race to win or lose as he employed his superior fitness on the sections of the course best suited to him.

“Though the rain did stop half way through the 75 minute race things stayed muddy for the duration, negating the more technically skilled riders advantage.

“Richardson rode what was probably his most complete and effective race of the year and took a well-deserved National Championship title. Kirk eventually overhauled a fading Smith and the two of them rounded out the podium.

“This year saw the introduction of a Masters [40+] category for the Men and promised to be a tight race between well-known names. Eventual winner Mark Hatherley followed the early hot pace set by Neil de ste Croix in their hour long race but after two laps Hatherley made a huge surge, giving him a gap which he continued to expand for the remaining five laps.

“Dexter Swan and Hans Hirshi continued the battle they have been waging through the Flying Colours Mountain Bike Series this year with Hirschi getting the better of his close rival.

“The Junior Female title was handily taken by Alyssa Rowse who has been virtually untouchable all year in the off-road races. Cassy McPhee road a strong event to finish second out of two with Tristan Narraway missing the start due to illness. The Open Female title went to Eileen Mullowney who rode away from her two competitors, Kim McIvor and Kamryn Minors.

“The highly anticipated Junior Male competition was no disappointment for those who braved the weather to spectate.

The foursome of Robin Horsfield, Kaden Hopkins, Dylan Hill and Matthew Oliveira have been pushing each other all season long, each showing their true capabilities at different events since November.

“But today was to be Horsfield’s day after having overtaken Oliveira who jumped to an early lead. Once Horsfield had an open trail ahead of him he gradually built his lead to an insurmountable gap. Oliveira’s attempts at chasing we not enough to get him on the top step of the podium but sufficient to hold on to second place.

“Hill rode a steady race for third while Hopkins crashed on the first lap and broke his brake lever, leaving him with no choice but to abandon the race early.”

The full Winners Edge Mountain Bike Championships 2016 results follow below [PDF here]:


Read More About

Category: All, Sports