38 Athletes Chosen For Carifta 2011

March 30, 2011

The Bermuda Track & Field Association have announced that 38 athletes have been chosen for the 2011 Carifta games, which will be held in Montego Bay, Jamaica from April 23rd – 25th. The 2010 Carifta Games were held in the Cayman Islands, and saw Bermuda’s team finishing in a very impressive 5th spot overall out of the 25 nations competing, having earned a combined eleven medals.

U17 Girls

  • 100m – Victoria Clarke, Taahira Butterfield
  • 200m – Victoria Clarke, Tyra Stovell
  • 400m – Tyra Stovell, Rachel Fox
  • 800m – Kyrah Scraders
  • 1500m – Kyrah Scraders, Quasshie Douglas
  • 3000m – Zakiyyah Showers,
  • HJ – Khianda Pearman-Watson, Keizhari Knight
  • 4X400m – Tyra Stovell, Rachel Fox, Azaire Smith, Victoria Clarke, Alt. Aailyah Nolan, Taahira Butterfield

U20 Girls

  • 100m – Shawnae Brangman
  • 200m – Shawnae Brangman
  • 1500m – Taylor Ashley Bean, Ashley Berry
  • TJ – Alison Outerbridge Akeila Richardson

U17 Boys

  • 100m – Kyle Webb, Bruce DeGrilla
  • 200m – Kyle Webb
  • 400m – Karim Creary
  • 1500m – Dage Minors
  • 3000m – Dage Minors, Daniel Oatley
  • LJ – Bruce DeGrilla, Chas Smith
  • TJ – Justin Donawa, Jaquan Callabras
  • HJ – Chas Smith, Jeremiah Steede
  • SP – Jaquan Heatherley
  • 4X100m – Kyle Webb, Bruce DeGrilla,Kidane Callender, Jaret Simmons Alt. Justin Donawa, Jaquan Callabras

U20 Boys

  • 100m – Jeneko Place, Jer-quan Simons
  • 200m – Jeneko Place, Jer-quan Simons
  • 400m – Kyle Godfrey
  • 800m – Shaquille Dill
  • 1500m – Juma Mouchette
  • 5000m – Juma Mouchette, Shawn Herman
  • LJ – Christian Wright, Tyrone Oswald
  • 110m Hurdles – Tristan Joynes
  • 4X100m – Jeneko Place, Jaquan Simons, Kyle Godfrey, Scott Clarke Alt.Christian Wright, Tyrone Oswald

The CARIFTA Games is an annual athletics competition founded by the Caribbean Free Trade Association. CARIFTA has seen many world class champions come through the competition including Usain Bolt of Jamaica, Veronica Campbell-Brown of Jamaica, Obadele Thompson of Barbados, Debbie Ferguson of the Bahamas and many more.

The CARIFTA participating countries are; Anguilla, Haiti, Antigua & Barbuda, Jamaica, Aruba, Martinique, Bahamas, Montserrat, Barbados, Netherlands Antilles, Bermuda, St. Kitts & Nevis, British Virgin Islands, St. Lucia, Cayman Islands, St. Vincent & The Grenadines, Dominica, Suriname, French Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Grenada, Turks & Caicos Islands, Guadeloupe, US Virgin Islands and Guyana.

Bermuda, who will host the 2010 Carifta Games, has the notable distinction of having the longest held record of the CARIFTA Games, courtesy of Sonia Smith, whose 1979 mark of 53.98m in the javelin has withstood three decades of competition.

Share via email

Read More About

Category: All, Sports