Who Won The Newport Bermuda Race?

June 26, 2012

[Written by Talbot Wilson] No single boat ‘wins’ the Newport to Bermuda Race. This classic ocean race has 5 divisions and 16 classes.

The 166 boats entered in 2012 raced for over 100 trophies including 5 major division trophies under the Offshore Racing Rule (ORR) system, and a one major prize for IRC that combines most boats in the St. David’s and Gibbs Hill Divisions that choose to be dual scored.

There was also one prize for the Spirit of Tradition Division. Winners in the 17 classes won perpetual trophies and up to 4-deep keepers based on the number of boats in the class.

The St. David’s Lighthouse is often regarded as the main trophy because that division is the largest with 93 boats, and because it carries on the founder’s aim to get amateurs sailing offshore in cruising-racing boats. Winning any division is worth bragging rights.

St. David’s Lighthouse Division for the St. David’s Lighthouse Trophy:

Carina, the McCurdy & Rhodes 48, sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook CT), finished at 18:16:59 Monday. Her corrected time was 45:08:16. This division is for mostly amateur crews.

Carina skippered by Rives Potts won the St David’s Lighthouse trophy for the second consecutive time. Photo: Barry Pickthall/PPL:

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division for the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy:

George Sakellaris in the Reichel/Pugh Shockwave (Boston MA) crossed the line third on elapsed at 8:55:25 on Sunday. She had a corrected time of 39:06:56. This division allows full professional crews.

Shockwave skippered by George Sakellaris, winner of the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse. Photo: Daniel Forster/PPL:

Cruiser Division for the Carleton Mitchell Finesterre Trophy:

Simon and Nancy De Pietro’s Briand 76 Lilla (Cork IRL) crossed the line at 7:17:13 on Tuesday. Her corrected time was 59:46:539. This division is for mostly amateur crews sailing cruising style boats.

Lilla owned by Simon and Nancy De Pietro was the top cruising yacht. Photo: Daniel Forster/PPL:

Double-Handed Division for The Moxie Prize:

Hewitt Gaynor’s J120 Mireille (Mt. Sinai, NY) co-skippered by Jay Raymond (Whitefish Bay WI). Mireille’s finished at 18:32:34 on Monday and her corrected time was 55:57:57. One professional is allowed, if that person is the owner.

Mireille co-skippered by Hewitt Gaynor and Jay Raymond won the Double handed division Photo: Daniel Forster/PPL:

Open Division for the Royal Mail Trophy:

Michael D’ Amelio (Hamilton. Bermuda) skipper of the Welborn 92 Med Spirit. She finished at 13:56:28 Sunday and her corrected time was 45:26:28. This division is for cant-keel boats with full professional crews allowed.

Med Spirit skippered by Michael D’ Amelio, won the Royal Mail trophy. Photo: Daniel Forster/PPL:

Combined Gibbs Hill and St. David’s Lighthouse Divisions for the IRC North Rock Beacon Trophy:

George Sakellaris in the Reichel/Pugh Shockwave (Framingham MA) crossed the line third on elapsed time at 8:55:25 on Sunday. She had an IRC corrected time of 65:19:30. This prize allows for full professional crews and amateurs.

Spirit of Bermuda, winner of the War Baby trophy. Her participation in this year’s race is expected to encourage other sail training schooners to take part in the 2014 Race. Photo: Barry Pickthall/PPL:

Spirit of Tradition Division:

The War Baby Trophy for the winner of the division was presented to Spirit of Bermuda which finished at 23:20:17 Monday night.

Read More About

Category: All, Sports